Hon. Brendon John Grylls MLA
National Party Whip

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:National Party of Australia

Inaugural Speech:

Speeches by Hon. Brendon John Grylls
Electorate Office:...
Shop 32
Karratha Village
Karratha WA 6714

Postal Address:
PO Box 1640
Karratha, 6714
Ph: 9144 4113
Fax: 9144 4115
Email: brendon.grylls@mp.wa.gov.au
Email2: spnatsec@mp.wa.gov.au
Website: www.brendongrylls.com.au

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
GRYLLS, Hon Brendon John, MLA
Member for Pilbara
National Party of Australia


Elected to the Thirty-Sixth Parliament for Merredin at the by-election on 24 November 2001 held to fill the vacancy consequent upon the resignation of Hon Hendy John Cowan. Re-elected 2005. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2007. Elected to the Thirty-Eighth Parliament for Central Wheatbelt (new seat) on 6 September 2008. Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for Pilbara on 9 March 2013 in succession to Thomas Gregory Stephens (retired).

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Parliamentary National Party of Australia (WA) from 17 March 2005 to 21 June 2005.
Leader of the Parliamentary National Party of Australia (WA) from 21 June 2005 to 19 November 2013.
National Party Whip from 17 February 2015.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development; Minister assisting the Minister for Transport from 23 September 2008 to 14 December 2010.
Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development from 14 December 2010 to 21 March 2013.
Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting on State Development from 21 March 2013 to 11 December 2013.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Coalition Shadow Minister for the Environment and the Wheatbelt from 27 May 2004 - 26 February 2005.
National Party spokesperson for Transport; Water from 21 June 2005.

Standing Committees

Member Parliamentary Services Committee from 7 April 2005 to 6 September 2008.



Born 5 June 1973, Perth, Western Australia.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

Cafe owner and manager; flour mill owner and manager; and farmer


The electorate of Pilbara is located in the Mining and Pastoral Region and includes the localities of Baynton, Boodarie, Bulgarra, Burrup, Cooya Pooya, Cossack, Dampier, De Grey, Gap Ridge, Gibson Desert North, Indee, Karratha, Karratha Industrial Est, Maitland, Marble Bar, Mardie, Millars Well, Newman, Nickol, Nullagine, Pardoo, Pegs Creek, Pippingarra, Point Samson, Port Hedland, Redbank, Roebourne, Sherlock, South Hedland, Strelley, Telfer, Wedgefield and Wickham.
Enrolment (6 September 2010) 16,821; area 404,244 sq kms.