Hon. Dr Michael (Mike) Dennis Nahan MLA BEc, MS, PhD
Treasurer; Minister for Energy; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Liberal Party

Inaugural Speech:

Speeches by Hon. Dr Michael (Mike) Dennis Nahan
Electorate Office:...
Shop P05
Stockland Riverton
Cnr of High Road and Willeri Drive
Riverton WA 6148

Ph: 9457 1282
Fax: 9354 3044
Email: mike.nahan@mp.wa.gov.au
Website: www.mikenahan.com.au

Ministerial Office:
13th Floor
Dumas House
2 Havelock Street
West Perth WA 6005
Ph: 6552 5700
Fax: 6552 5701
Email: Minister.Nahan@dpc.wa.gov.au

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
NAHAN, Michael (Mike) Dennis, MLA
Member for Riverton
Liberal Party


Elected to the Thirty-Eighth Parliament for Riverton on 6 September 2008 in succession to Anthony David McRae (defeated). Re-elected 2013.

Parliamentary Appointments

Trustee Parliamentary Superannuation Board from November 2008 to 30 January 2013.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education; Energy; Indigenous Affairs from 29 June 2012 to 21 March 2013.
Minister for Energy; Finance; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests from 21 March 2013 to 17 March 2014.
Treasurer; Minister for Energy; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests from 17 March 2014.

Standing Committees

Member, Economics and Industry Standing Committee from 13 November 2008 to 17 August 2012. (Chairman from 26 November 2008 to 12 September 2012).



Born 2 July 1950, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA.
Arrived in Western Australia, July 1982; in Victoria, 1995 to 2006; returned to Western Australia, July 2006.

Martial Status


Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

BEc, MS, PhD. Consultant.


The electorate of Riverton is located in the South Metropolitan Region and includes parts of the City of Canning; including the localities of Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley and Willetton.
Enrolment (9 March 2015) 24,144; area 25 sq kms.