Skip to main content
    • The Legislative Assembly meets on 18/06/2019 (02:00 PM)
      Legislative AssemblySitting Today (02:00 PM)
    • The Legislative Council meets on 25/06/2019 (02:00 PM)
      Legislative CouncilSitting Today (02:00 PM)
    • Select Committee into alternate approaches to reducing illicit drug use and its effects on the community meet on 17/06/2019 (09:30 AM)
      Select Committee into alternate approaches to reducing illicit drug use and its effects on the communitySitting Today (09:30 AM)
    • Economics and Industry Standing Committee meet on 19/06/2019 (09:15 AM)
      Economics and Industry Standing CommitteeSitting Today (09:15 AM)
Hon. Matthew Dean Swinbourn MLC BA; LLB
Deputy Chair of Committees
House:Legislative Council
Party:Australian Labor Party
Electorate:East Metropolitan Region
Inaugural Speech:

Inaugural Video:
Speeches by Hon. Matthew Dean Swinbourn
Electorate Office:...
Unit 2, 201-205 Burslem Drive
Maddington WA 6109

Ph: (08) 9452 8311
Fax: (08) 9452 8366

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

SWINBOURN Hon. Matthew , MLC
Member for East Metropolitan Region
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Fortieth Parliament for the East Metropolitan Region on 11 March 2017 for the term commencing on 22 May 2017.

Parliamentary Appointments
Deputy Chair of Committees: 23 May 2017 - present.

Standing Committees
Chair, Standing Committee on Environment and Public Affairs: 23 May 2017 - present.

Select Committees
Member, Select Committee on Elder Abuse: 13 September 2017 - 13 September 2018.


3 April 1975, Perth, Western Australia.

Marital Status

Occupation before entering Parliament and Qualifications
Lawyer, Senior Industrial Officer, Workers Compensation Officer, Prosecutions Officer, Law Clerk and Sessional Lecturer at Notre Dame University.
BA, Double Major in Political Science and Anthropology.

East Metropolitan Region includes the Legislative Assembly electorates of Armadale, Bassendean, Belmont, Darling Range, Forrestfield, Kalamunda, Maylands, Midland, Mirrabooka, Morley, Mount Lawley, Swan Hills, Thornlie (formerly Gosnells), and West Swan.