CPA Logo

Western Australian Branch

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is an association of Commonwealth Parliamentarians who, irrespective of gender, race, religion or culture, are united by community of interest – promoting knowledge and understanding about parliamentary democracy and respect for the rule of law and individual rights and freedoms.

The Association’s purpose is to promote knowledge and understanding of the constitutional, legislative, economic, social and cultural systems within a parliamentary democratic framework. It undertakes this mission with particular reference to the countries of the Commonwealth of Nations and to countries having close historical and parliamentary associations with it.

It provides the sole means of regular consultation among Members of Commonwealth Parliaments. It fosters cooperation and understanding among them and promotes the study of and respect for Parliament. Its role is endorsed by Commonwealth Parliaments and Heads of Government.

It pursues these objectives by means of:
  • Annual Commonwealth Parliamentary Conferences, Regional Conferences and other symposiums;
  • Interparliamentary visits;
  • Parliamentary Seminars and Workshops;
  • Publications, notably The Parliamentarian and two newsletters on CPA activities and on parliamentary and political events; and
  • Parliamentary Information and Reference Centre.

Association Branches now exist in more than 170 national, state, provincial and territorial Parliaments, with a total membership of over 15,000 Parliamentarians.

Branches are grouped geographically into nine Commonwealth Regions for representation on the CPA Executive Committee and for the organization of regional conferences and seminars on parliamentary practice and procedure. The Regions are: Africa; Asia; Australia; British Islands and Mediterranean; Canada; Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic; India; Pacific, and South-East Asia.

Executive Committee Members of the Western Australian Branch

Joint Presidents:
Hon Kate Doust, MLC
Hon Peter Watson, MLA


Vice Presidents:
Hon Mark McGowan, MLA
Hon Mike Nahan, MLA
Hon Sue Ellery, MLC
Hon Peter Collier, MLC
Nominated Party Members:
Mr Ian Blayney, MLA
Dr Tony Buti, MLA
Mr Shane Love, MLA
Mr Kevin Michel, MLA
Hon Simon O’Brien, MLA
Mr Don Punch, MLA
Ms Margaret Quirk, MLA
Ms Jessica Stojkovski, MLA
Hon. Colin Tincknell, MLC
Hon. Alison Xamon, MLC
   CWP Branch Representative:   Ms Lisa Baker MLA
Honorary Secretary/Treasurer:
Ms Kirsten Robinson
Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
Legislative Assembly
Parliament House
4 Harvest Terrace

Phone: (+61 8) 9222 7215

Fax: (+61 8) 9222 7818


Assistant Honorary Secretary:
Mr Nigel Pratt
Clerk of the Legislative Council

Rules of the CPA (WA)