

Governors of Western Australia

Name	Period of Service
Captain Sir James Stirling	1828 - 1839
John Hutt	1839 - 1846
LieutColonel Andrew Clarke	1846 - 1847
Captain Charles Fitzgerald	1848 - 1855
Arthur Edward Kennedy (Afterwards Sir)	1855 - 1862
John Stephen Hampton	1862 - 1868
Sir Benjamin Chilley Campbell Pine 1	1868 - 1869
Frederick Aloysius Weld	1869 - 1875
Sir William Cleaver Francis Robinson	1875 - 1877
Major-General Sir Harry St. George Ord	1878 - 1880
Sir William Cleaver Francis Robinson	1880 - 1883
Sir Frederick Napier Broome	1883 - 1889
Sir William Cleaver Francis Robinson	1890 - 1895
LieutColonel Sir Gerard Smith	1895 - 1900
Captain Sir Arthur Lawley	1901 - 1902
Admiral Sir Frederick George Denham Bedford	1903 - 1909
Sir Gerald Strickland	1909 - 1913
Major-General Sir Harry Barron	1913 - 1917
Sir William Grey Ellison - Macartney	1917 - 1920
Sir Francis Alexander Newdigate Newdegate	1920 - 1924
Colonel Sir William Robert Campion	1924 - 1931
LieutGovernor The Hon. Sir James Mitchell	1933 - 1948
LieutGeneral Sir Charles Henry Gairdner	1951 - 1963
Major-General Sir Douglas Anthony Kendrew	1963 - 1973
Air Commodore Sir Hughie Idwal Edwards	1974 - 1975
Air Chief Marshal Sir Wallace Kyle	1975 - 1980
Rear-Admiral Sir Richard Trowbridge	1980 - 1983
Professor Gordon Stanley Reid	1984 - 1989
Hon Sir Francis Theodore Page Burt	1990 - 1993
Major-General Michael Philip Jeffery	1993 - 2000
Lieut. General John Sanderson	2000 - 2005
Dr Kenneth Comninos Michael	2006 - 2011
Mr Malcolm McCusker AO QC	2011 -

Footnote

1 By Letters Patent issued on 20 July 1868 Sir Benjamin Chilley Campbell *Pine* was appointed Governor but he did not take up the appointment and on 14 April 1869 Frederick Aloysius *Weld* was appointed "in the room of Sir Benjamin *Pine*".

Sources

Black, David and John Mandy (editors).

The Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook.Perth, W.A.: Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, 2002.

Governors and Premiers of Western Australia Perth, W.A.: Constitutional Centre of Western Australia, 2002.

WE VALUE YOUR FEEDBACK

The Parliamentary Library welcomes your comments on our series of *Scope Notes*. To help us provide a more user-friendly and relevant service we would appreciate you taking a few moments to complete this form.

For your purposes, did you find this Scope Note						
1. ρ Very informative	2. ρ	3. ρ	4. ρ	5. ρ Not at all informative		
1. ρ Easy to understa	2. ρ nd	3. ρ	4. ρ	5. ρ Difficult to understand		
This Scope Note was useful for						
ρ Work	ρ Study	ρ General interes	st ρ Other			
Other comments and suggested topics for future <i>Scope Notes</i> :						
If you require a reply, please print your name and contact details below: Name Contact details						
Please return to: Parliamentary Library Parliament House Perth WA 6000 Australia						
Fax: +61 8 9222 7859						

If you prefer, please email, library@parliament.wa.gov.au