MEMBERSHIP OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 1832–1870.

Between 1832 and 1867 the membership of the Legislative Council consisted of the Governor and four (five from 1847) official nominee members who were also members of the Executive Council. From 1839 there were also four non-official nominee members, increasing to six in 1867. The lists that follow do not take account of a number of short-term official nominee members in an acting capacity.

GOVERNOR

Captain James Stirling, 1832–1839

Administrator/Lt Gov Frederick Chidley Irwin, 1832-1833 (Sep)

Administrator/Lt Gov Captain Richard Daniell, 1833 (Sep)-1834 (Aug)

John Hutt, 1839-1846

Lt Col Andrew KH Clarke, 1846-1847

Administrator Lt Col Frederick Chidley Irwin, 1847-1848

Captain Charles Fitzgerald, 1848-1855

Arthur Edward Kennedy, 1855-1862

John Stephen Hampton, 1862-1868

Administrator Lt Col John Bruce, 1869–1870

Frederick Aloysius Weld, 1870-1875

OFFICIAL NOMINEE MEMBERS

Commandant (Commander of the Troops/most senior officer)

Captain Frederick Chidley Irwin, 1832–1833 (Sep)

Captain Richard Daniell, 1833–1835 (July) (deceased)

Captain (later Lt Col) Frederick Chidley Irwin, 1836-1854

Lt Col GM Reeves, 1854-1855

Lt Col John Bruce, 1855-1870

Major Robert Henry Crampton (Acting), 1867

Colonial Secretary

Peter Broun (Brown), 1832-1846

George Fletcher Moore (Acting), 1846 (Nov)-1847 (May)

Richard Robert Madden, 1847-1849

Revitt Henry Bland, 1849 (Jan)-1850 (Mar)

Thomas Newte Yule (Acting), 1850 (Mar-Oct)

Alexander John Piesse, 1850 (Nov)-1851 (Mar)

Thomas Newte Yule (Acting), 1851 (Mar-Dec)

William Ashford Sanford, 1852-1855

Frederick Palgrave Barlee, 1855 (Sep)-1870

Advocate General

William Henry Mackie, 1832-1834

George Fletcher Moore, 1834 (Sep)-1846, 1847-1852

Richard West Nash (Acting), 1846-1847

BW Vigors (Acting), 1852-1854

Richard H Burnie, 1854-1859

George Frederick Stone (Acting from 1857), 1859-1861

Attorney General

George Frederick Stone, 1861-1870

Surveyor-General

Captain John Septimus Roe, 1832–1870 Alfred Hillman (Acting), 1861

Collector of Revenue

Henry Charles Sutherland, 1847 (June)–1855 (June) Richard McBride Broun, 1855 Anthony O'Grady Lefroy, 1855–1870 Frederick Derek Wittenoom (Acting), 1863 William Knight (Acting), 1864

NOMINATED NON-OFFICIAL MEMBERS

From 1839 to 1867 the Legislative Council included four members nominated for life. From 1867 six members were nominated for three-year terms. Five of these members initially were nominated following success in an unofficial election.

Walter Boyd Andrews, 1847 (June to September) (deceased)

Edward Pomeroy Barrett-Lennard, 1840 (May)-1842 (Aug) (resigned)

Walter Bateman, 1868–1870 (won election in Fremantle in 1867 but did not attend 1869)

William Locke Brockman, 1839–1840, 1868–1870 (won election in Swan [Guildford] 1867)

Thomas Brown, 1851–1852

Julian George Charles Carr, 1868–1870 (won election in Perth in 1867)

Marshall Waller Clifton, 1851–1858 (Oct) (resigned)

William Pearce Clifton, 1852-1855

Edward Hamersley, 1857–1867 (defeated in election for Eastern Districts in 1867)

John Wall Hardey, 1855–1867, 1867–1870 (defeated in election for Swan [Guildford] in 1867 but was renominated as member)

George Leake, 1839–1849 (May) (deceased)

William Henry Mackie (see also Advocate General), 1842–1857 (Acting member July 1841–August 1842)

Samuel Moore, 1848–1849 (July) (deceased)

Richard West Nash (see also Advocate General), 1848–1850 (on leave in 1849 and absent 1850) (deceased December 1850)

Edward Newman, 1870 (May-July) (defeated in election for Fremantle in 1867)

Thomas Peel, 1839-1840 (April) (resigned)

Samuel Pole Phillips, 1857–1867, 1868–1870 (won election for Eastern Districts in 1867)

Lionel Samson, 1849 (Dec)-1856, 1859-1867

Francis Corbet Singleton, 1844-1846

James George Lee Steere, 1868-1870 (won election for Wellington [Southern District] in 1867)

William Tanner, 1839–1843 (resigned)

Thomas Newte Yule, 1841–1847