Skip to main content
    • The Legislative Assembly meets today (09:00 AM)Watch live
      Legislative AssemblySitting Today (09:00 AM)
    • The LC Budget Estimates meets today (09:00 AM)Watch live
      LC Budget EstimatesSitting Today (09:00 AM)
    • Economics and Industry Standing Committee meet on 26/06/2019 (10:00 AM)
      Economics and Industry Standing CommitteeSitting Today (10:00 AM)
    • Select Committee into alternate approaches to reducing illicit drug use and its effects on the community meet on 05/08/2019 (02:45 PM)
      Select Committee into alternate approaches to reducing illicit drug use and its effects on the communitySitting Today (02:45 PM)
Mr Phillip (Phil) John Edman MLC
House:Legislative Council
Party:Liberal Party
Electorate:South Metropolitan Region
Inaugural Speech:

Inaugural Video:
Speeches by Mr Phillip (Phil) John Edman

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

EDMAN, Hon. Phil, MLC
Member for South Metropolitan Region
Liberal Party


Elected to the Thirty-eighth Parliament for the South Metropolitan Region on 6 September 2008 for term commencing 22 May 2009. Re-elected 2013 for term commencing 22 May.
Defeated 11 March 2017 (term concluded 21 May 2017).

Parliamentary Party Appointments
Government Whip: 26 March 2013 - 21 March 2017.

Standing Committees
Note: At the commencement of each Parliament, Members are required to be (re)appointed
Member, Standing Committee on Environment and Public Affairs: 4 June 2009 - 21 May 2013.
Member, Standing Committee on Uniform Legislation and Statutes Review: 6 April 2016 - 21 May 2017.

Domestic Committees
Note: Fulfils an advisory role concerning services provided to Members
Member, Parliamentary Superannuation Board: 22 May 2013 - 21 May 2017.


Born 24 August 1970, Tamworth, New South Wales.
Arrived in Western Australia in 1976.

Marital Status

Occupation before entering Parliament and Qualifications
Business Proprietor.

South Metropolitan Region includes the 15 Legislative Assembly electorates of Baldivis, Bateman, Bicton, Cannington, Cockburn, Fremantle, Jandakot, Kwinana, Riverton, Rockingham, Southern River, South Perth, Victoria Park, Warnbro and Willagee.