Hon. Anthony (Tony) James Simpson MLA
Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Liberal Party
Electorate:Darling Range

Inaugural Speech:

Speeches by Hon. Anthony (Tony) James Simpson
Electorate Office:...
Suite 5
837 South West Highway
Byford WA 6122

Postal Address:
PO Box 56
Byford 6122
Ph: (08) 9525 4822
Fax: (08) 9525 4866
Email: darlingrange@mp.wa.gov.au
Website: www.premier.wa.gov.au/Ministers/Tony-Simpson/

Ministerial Office:
8th Floor
Dumas House
2 Havelock Street
West Perth WA 6005
Ph: 6552 6600
Fax: 6552 6601
Email: Minister.Simpson@dpc.wa.gov.au

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
SIMPSON, Anthony James, MLA
Member for Darling Range
Liberal Party


Elected to the Thirty-Seventh Parliament for Serpentine-Jarrahdale (new seat) on 26 February 2005. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2007. Elected to the Thirty-Eighth Parliament for Darling Range in succession to John Howard Dadley Day (successfully contested the seat of Kalamunda) on 6 September 2008. Re-elected 2013.


Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Child Protection from 23 September 2008 to 11 August 2009.
Parliamentary Secretary representing the Minister for Child Protection; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering from 11 August 2009 to 14 December 2010.
Parliamentary Secretary representing the Minister for Youth from 14 December 2010 to 8 July 2011.
Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth from 21 March 2013.

Standing Committees

Member Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation from 7 April 2005.
Member Economics and Industry Standing Committee from 15 November 2005.
Member Parliamentary Services Committee from 13 November 2008 to 30 January 2013.

Parliamentary Appointments

Opposition Whip from 18 June 2008 to 22 September 2008.
Government Whip from 8 July 2011 to 21 March 2013.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Opposition Spokesperson on Forestry from 16 March 2005. Also Opposition Spokesperson on IT and Communications, Volunteers.


Born 15 July 1965, Frankstown, Victoria.
Arrived in Western Australia 1970.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

Self-employed baker and local government councillor.


The electorate of Darling Range is located in the East Metropolitan Region and includes the localities of Bedfordale, Byford, Cardup, Darling Downs, Hacketts Gully, Harrisdale, Hopeland, Jarrahdale, Karragullen, Karrakup, Mardella, Mundijong, Oakford, Oldbury, Piara Waters, Pickering Brook, Roleystone, Serpentine, Whitby and parts of Bickley, Canning Mills, Carmel, Forrestdale, Kelmscott, Keysbrook, Mt Richon, Piesse Brook and Wungong.
Enrolment (6 September 2010) 23,447; area: 1,594 sq kms.