Shadow Ministers

The Shadow Ministry is composed of senior Members of the Opposition in the Parliament who occupy the Opposition front benches in either the Legislative Assembly or the Legislative Council. They are allocated ‘shadow’ portfolios to match those of the Government.

A Shadow Minister’s role is to scrutinise, appraise and criticise policies and actions of a particular Government Minister and government departments under his or her responsibility. Shadow Ministry members are the Opposition’s main spokespeople in Parliament and to the public through the media. Unlike Ministers, Shadow Ministers may also serve on Parliamentary Committees.

In the Western Australian Parliament ‘Shadow Ministries’ date back to 1974 but they do not have official status. Only party Leaders, Deputy Leaders and party Whips receive an extra salary allowance for their roles.

Search Help

Hon. Mark McGowan MLA

Shadow Minister for Regional Development; Economic Reform; Public Sector Management

Mr Roger Hugh Cook MLA

Deputy Leader of the Opposition; Shadow Minister for Health; Science

Hon. Suzanne (Sue) Mary Ellery MLC

Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council; Shadow Minister for Education; Children's Interests

Hon. Catherine (Kate) Esther Doust MLC

Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council; Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations; Commerce; Small Business; Trade; Electoral Affairs

Hon. Michelle Hopkins Roberts MLA

Shadow Minister for Police; Road Safety; Crime Prevention; Culture and the Arts; Manager of Opposition Business

Mr Benjamin (Ben) Sana Wyatt MLA

Shadow Treasurer; Shadow Minister for Aboriginal Affairs; Native Title; Kimberley; Pilbara; Cost of Living

Hon. Francis (Fran) Michael Logan MLA

Shadow Minister for Housing; Local Jobs; Training and Workforce Development

Ms Margaret Mary Quirk MLA

Shadow Minister for Emergency Services; Bushfire Preparedness; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests; Seniors; Ageing and Volunteering; Heritage

Mr David Alan Templeman MLA

Shadow Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Peel

Hon. Stephen Noel Dawson MLC

Shadow Minister for Disability Services; Mental Health; Child Protection

Mr William (Bill) Joseph Johnston MLA

Shadow Minister for State Development; Energy; Mines and Petroleum

Mr David (Dave) Joseph Kelly MLA

Shadow Minister for Water; Fisheries; Youth

Mr Michael (Mick) Philip Murray MLA

Shadow Minister for Regional Roads; Racing and Gaming; Forestry; South West

Mr Paul Papalia CSC, MLA

Shadow Minister for Corrective Services; Tourism; Defence Issues; Gascoyne; Goldfields-Esperance

Mr John Robert Quigley MLA

Shadow Attorney General

Ms Rita Saffioti MLA

Shadow Minister for Planning; Finance; Government Accountability; Women's Interests

Mr Christopher (Chris) John Tallentire MLA

Shadow Minister for Environment; Climate Change; Lands

Mr Peter Bruce Watson MLA

Shadow Minister for Sport and Recreation; Great Southern; Veterans Issues