Skip to main content
Hon. David Alan Templeman MLA DipTchg, BEd
Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Culture and the Arts
Leader of the House

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Australian Labor Party

Inaugural Speech:

Speeches by Hon. David Alan Templeman
Portrait of member
Electorate Office:...
4 Sutton St
Mandurah WA 6210

Postal Address:
PO Box 1509
Mandurah 6210
Ph: 9581 3944
Fax: 9581 2355

Ministerial Office:
7th Floor
Dumas House
2 Havelock Street
Ph: (08) 6552 5400
Fax: (08) 6552 5401

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Member for Mandurah
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirty-Sixth Parliament for Mandurah on 10 February 2001 in succession to Roger Keith Nicholls (defeated). Re-elected 2005, 2008, 2013, 2017.

Parliamentary Appointments

Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 5 May 2004 to 23 January 2005.
Government Whip from 20 March 2005 to 16 February 2006.
Opposition Whip from 26 September 2008 to 11 March 2017.
Leader of the House from 17 March 2017.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Community Development; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth; Minister Assisting the Minister for Planning and Infrastructure from 3 February 2006 to 13 December 2006.
Minister for Child Protection; Communities; Seniors and Volunteering; Peel from 13 December 2006 to 2 March 2007.
Minister for the Environment; Climate Change; Peel from 2 March 2007 to 23 September 2008.
Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Culture and the Arts from 17 March 2017.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Peel from 9 April 2013 to 26 June 2015.
Shadow Minister for Local Government; Volunteering; Heritage; Peel; Wheatbelt; Mid-West from 26 June 2015 to 11 March 2017.

Standing Committees

Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 30 May 2001 to 23 January 2005. (Chair from 30 May 2001 to 23 January 2005).
Member, Economics and Industry Standing Committee from 7 April 2005 to 8 March 2006.



21 November 1965, Northam, Western Australia.

Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

DipTchg, BEd. School Teacher; Entertainer; City of Mandurah Councillor; Deputy Mayor.


The electorate of Mandurah is located in the South West Region and includes all or parts of the City of Mandurah and the Shire of Murray.
Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Barragup, Coodanup, Furnissdale, Greenfields, Lakelands, Madora Bay, Mandurah, Meadow Springs, North Yunderup, Parklands, San Remo, and Silver Sands.

Enrolment (2017) 28,977; area 74 sq kms.