Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets today (01:00 PM)Watch live
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 10/06/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 10/06/2024

Mr Vincent Alexander Catania MLA

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

CATANIA, Vincent Alexander, MLA
Former Member for North West Central
The Nationals WA


Elected to the Thirty-Seventh Parliament for Mining and Pastoral Region (Legislative Council) on 26 February 2005 for term commencing 22 May 2005.
Resigned 12 August 2008 (to contest the Legislative Assembly seat of North West).

Elected to the Thirty-Eighth Parliament for North West (new seat) on 6 September 2008. Electorate abolished in the 2011 redistribution of seats.
Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for North West Central (new seat) on 9 March 2013.
Re-elected 2017, 2021.
Resigned 8 August 2022. Succeeded at by-election on 17 September 2022 by Merome Beard (Nat).

Parliamentary Appointments

Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 11 November 2008 to 11 August 2009.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Water; Forestry from 11 December 2013 to 8 December 2014.
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Water; Sport and Recreation; Forestry from 8 December 2014 to 15 August 2016.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Tourism; Commerce; Aboriginal Affairs; Government Accountability from 19 April 2021 to 8 August 2022.

Standing Committees

Member, Standing Committee on Public Administration and Finance from 26 May 2005 to 17 August 2005.
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Delegation Legislation from 26 May 2005 to 12 August 2008.
Member, Standing Committee on Public Administration from 17 August 2005 to 12 August 2008.
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation from 16 August 2012 to 30 January 2013.
Member, Economics and Industry Standing Committee from 9 May 2013 to 15 August 2013.
Member, Public Accounts Committee from 23 May 2017 to 29 January 2021.
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Audit from 13 June 2017 to 29 January 2021.
Member, Economics and Industry Standing Committee from 12 May 2021 (Deputy Chair from 26 May 2021) to 8 August 2022.

Parliamentary Party Appointments

National Party Whip from 13 August 2013 to 17 February 2015.
National Party Whip from 16 August 2016 to 11 March 2017.



Born 23 February 1977, Perth, Western Australia.

Qualifications and occupation before entering Parliament

Senior Policy Advisor.


The electorate of North West Central is located in the Mining and Pastoral Region and includes all or parts of the Shire of Ashburton, Shire of Carnarvon, Shire of Cue, Shire of Exmouth, Shire of Meekatharra, Shire of Mount Magnet, Shire of Murchison, Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku, Shire of Northampton, Shire of Sandstone, Shire of Shark Bay, Shire of Upper Gascoyne, Shire of Wiluna and the Shire of Yalgoo.

Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Ajana, Angelo River, Babbage Island, Barrow Island, Brockman, Brown Range, Cane, Cape Range National Park, Capricorn, Carbla, Carnarvon, Carrarang, Chichester, Coburn, Cooladar Hill, Coral Bay, Cue, Daggar Hills, Denham, Dirk Hartog, East Carnarvon, East Lyons River, East Murchison, Eurardy, Exmouth, Exmouth Gulf, Fortescue, Francois Peron Nat Pk, Gascoyne Junction, Gascoyne River, Gibson Desert South, Greys Plain, Hamelin Pool, Inggarda, Innawanga, Juna Downs, Kalbarri, Karalundi, Karijini, Kennedy Range, Kingsford, Kumarina, Lake Austin, Lake Carnegie, Learmonth, Little Sandy Desert, Lyndon, Macleod, Massey Bay, Meadow, Meekatharra, Millstream, Minilya, Monkey Mia, Morgantown, Mt Magnet, Mt Sheila, Mulga Downs, Murchison, Nanga, Nanutarra, Nerren Nerren, Ngaanyatjarra-Giles, North Plantations, North West Cape, Onslow, Pannawonica, Paraburdoo, Paynes Find, Paynesville, Peak Hill, Peedamulla, Reedy, Rocklea, Sandstone, South Carnarvon, South Murchison, South Plantations, Talandji, Talisker, Tamala, Tom Price, Useless Loop, Warburton, Weld Range, West Lyons River, Wiluna, Wittenoom, Woodleigh, Woolgorong, Wooramel, Yalardy, Yalgoo, Yandoo Creek and Yannarie.

Enrolment - 10,993 (11 February 2021)

Area - 820,591 km