Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 06/08/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 06/08/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 13/08/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 13/08/2024

Hon. David (Dave) Joseph Kelly MLA


Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

KELLY, Hon. David (Dave) Joseph, MLA
Member for Bassendean
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for Bassendean on 9 March 2013, in succession to Martin Paul Whitely (retired).
Re-elected 2017, 2021.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Water; Fisheries; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; Science from 17 March 2017 to 20 December 2019.
Minister for Water; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; Science; Youth from 20 December 2019 to 19 March 2021.
Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth from 19 March 2021 to 14 December 2022.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Water; Fisheries; Youth from 9 April 2013 to 11 March 2017.

Standing Committees

Member, Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 21 February 2023.



Born 1 July 1962, East Fremantle, Western Australia.

Qualifications and occupation before entering Parliament

Union Secretary.


The electorate of Bassendean is located in the East Metropolitan Region and includes all or parts of the City of Bayswater, City of Swan and the Town of Bassendean.

Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Ashfield, Bassendean, Bayswater, Beechboro, Bennett Springs, Caversham, Eden Hill, Embleton, Kiara, Lockridge and Morley.

Enrolment - 29,509 (11 February 2021)

Area - 26 km

Further Biographical Details for Hon. David (Dave) Joseph Kelly