Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 27/02/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 27/02/2024
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/03/2024
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 28/02/2024 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 28/02/2024

Mr Anthony (Tony) Patrick O'Gorman MLA

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
O'GORMAN, Anthony Patrick, MLA
Former Member for Joondalup
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirty-Sixth Parliament for Joondalup on 10 February 2001 in succession to Christopher John Baker (defeated).
Re-elected 2005, 2008. Defeated by Jan Norberger in the general election of 9 March 2013.

Parliamentary Appointments

Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 26 September 2002 to 9 March 2013.

Standing Committees

Member Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 30 May 2001 to 23 January 2005.
Chairman Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 7 April 2005.
Member Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 13 November 2008 to 30 January 2013.



13 March 1958, Birmingham, UK.
Arrived Western Australia April 1981.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

Manager administration and finance.


The electorate of Joondalup is located in the North Metropolitan Region and includes the suburbs/towns of Beldon, Connolly, Craigie, Edgewater, Heathridge, Joondalup and parts of Currambine.
Enrolment (26 February 2007) 21,815; area 30 sq kms.