Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 07/12/2021 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 07/12/2021
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 15/02/2022 (02:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 15/02/2022
Hon. James (Jim) Alan Scott

House:Legislative Council
Party:Greens (WA)
Electorate:South Metropolitan

Inaugural Speech: pdf icon to inaugural speech transcript

Speeches by Hon. James (Jim) Alan Scott
Portrait of member

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Hide details for Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary HandbookExtract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
SCOTT, Hon. James (Jim) Alan, MLC
Member for South Metropolitan Region
Greens Party of Western Australia


Elected to the Thirty-fourth Parliament for South Metropolitan Region on 6 February 1993 for term commencing 22 May 1993. Re-elected 1996, 2001 (for term commencing 22 May 2001). Resigned 26 January 2005 (to contest Lower House seat of Fremantle).

Standing Committees
Note: At the commencement of each Parliament, Members are required to be (re)appointedMember, Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation: 14 June 1995 - 14 November 1996 (membership ceased on prorogation). Reappointed 26 June 1997 - 10 January 2001 (membership ceased on prorogation).
Member, Standing Committee on Environment and Public Affairs: 28 June 2001 - 23 January 2005 (membership ceased on prorogation).

Select Committees/Royal Commissions
Notes: Select Committees cease to exist on Prorogation
Member, Select Committee to Review the Legislative Council Standing Committee System: 26 June 1997 - 27 August 1997.
Member, Select Committee on Rules, Orders and Usage of the House 5 December 2002 - 12 March 2003.
Member, Select Committee into Workers Compensation: 2 July 2004 - 17 November 2004.


Born 16 November 1946, Kellerberrin.

Marital Status

Qualifications and Occupation before entering Parliament
Theatrical set builder.


South Metropolitan Region includes the Legislative Assembly electorates of Alfred Cove, Cockburn, Fremantle, Murdoch, Peel, Riverton, Rockingham, South Perth, Victoria Park and Willagee. Enrolment (14 December 1996) 238,150; area 590 sq km.