Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 14/02/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 14/02/2023
  • The Legislative Council meets on 14/02/2023 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 14/02/2023
  • The Select Committee into Child Development Services meets tomorrow (10:00 AM)
    Committee meet tomorrow

Mr Matthew (Matt) Howard Taylor MLA

BSc (Hons)

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Former Member for Bateman
Liberal Party


Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for Bateman on 9 March 2013 in succession to Hon Charles Christian Porter (retired). Defeated at the general election of 11 March 2017 for the seat of Bicton (new seat) by Lisa O'Malley (ALP).

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier; Minister for Police; Road Safety; Training and Workforce Development; Women's Interests from 31 March 2016 to 17 May 2016.
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for State Development; Finance; Innovation from 17 May 2016 to 17 March 2017.

Standing Committees

Member, Public Accounts Committee from 9 May 2013 to 30 January 2017.
Member, Joint Audit Committee from 13 June 2013 to 30 January 2017.



Born 4 March 1973, Cottesloe, Western Australia.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

BSc (Hons). Sustainable Development Consultant; Executive Director.


The electorate of Bateman is located in the South Metropolitan Region and includes parts of the City of Melville; including all of the localities of Bateman, Brentwood, Bull Creek, Murdoch, Myaree and Winthrop; and parts of Alfred Cove, Booragoon, Kardinya, Melville and Mount Pleasant.
Enrolment (9 March 2015) 23,307; area 21 sq kms.