Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets tomorrow (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit tomorrow
  • The Legislative Council meets tomorrow (02:00 PM)
    Council sit tomorrow
  • The Estimates Committee meets today (09:00 AM)Watch live

Hon. June Dorothy Van De Klashorst

Dip.Teach., G.D.R.E., T.H.C.

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Liberal Party
Electorate:Former Member for Swan Hills

Speeches by Hon. June Dorothy Van De Klashorst
Portrait of member

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Hide details for Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary HandbookExtract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
van de KLASHORST, June Dorothy, MLA
Member for Swan Hills


Elected to the Thirty-fourth Parliament for Swan Hills on 6 February 1993 in succession to Gavan John Troy (retired). Re-elected 1996. Defeated 10 February 2001.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Justice 9 January 1997 – 21 December 1999. Minister for Family and Childrens Services; Seniors; Women's Interests 22 December 1999 - 10 February 2001.

Standing Committees

Member House Committee 20 October 1993 – 10 May 1994; Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation 6 April 1994 – 14 November 1996; Library Committee 20 March 1997 – 11 June 1998.

Select Committees/Royal Commissions

Member Select Committee on Intervention in Childbirth 16 June 1994 – 21 September 1995; on Heavy Transport 27 September 1994 – 13 November 1996; on Crime Prevention 15 October 1997 – 23 September 1999.



Born (June Dorothy Wellstead) 1 June 1938, England, UK. Arrived in Western Australia June 1951.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Parliament

Dip Teach, GDRE, THC. School teacher, partner in family orchard.


Swan Hills is located in the East Metropolitan Region and includes the suburbs of Baskerville, Belhus, Brigadoon, Bullsbrook, Chidlow, Darlington, Ellenbrook, Gidgegannup, Glen Forrest, Henley Brook, Hovea, Mahogany Creek, Mount Helena, Mundaring, Parkerville, Sawyers Valley, Stoneville, The Vines, Upper Swan, West Swan and Wooroloo, and parts of Beechboro, Jane Brook and Middle Swan. Enrolment (6 February 1993) 23,857; 1,575 sq km.