Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 07/12/2021 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 07/12/2021
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 15/02/2022 (02:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 15/02/2022

Make a submission

Inquiry into Cannabis and Hemp

Select Committee into Cannabis and Hemp

(1) A Select Committee to be known as the Cannabis and Hemp Select Committee, is established.
(2) The Select Committee is to inquire into and report on the potential to amend the current legislation and regulations which apply to cannabis and hemp in Western Australia, with particular reference to —
(a) the current barriers to pharmaceutical nutraceutical use of cannabinoid products;
(b) medicinal cannabis, its prescription, availability and affordability; and
(c) the potential benefits and risks of permitting industrial hemp for human consumption.
(3) The Select Committee shall consist of five members, namely: Hon Dr Brian Walker (Chair); Hon Matthew Swinbourn (Deputy Chair); Hon Jackie Jarvis; Hon Lorna Harper and Hon James Hayward.
(4) The Select Committee may table interim reports, and is to table its final report by no later than 12 months after the committee has been established.

About your submission

For more information about making a submission, please see How to Make a Submission.
For more information about committees generally, please see the Committees FAQ page.

Lodging your submission

You can send your submission directly to the Committee by accessing the ‘Lodge your submission’ button. You can email or post your submission to the address in the ‘Contact Details’ box of this page. Posted submissions should be marked attention to the Committee.
Submissions must be received by the closing date for receipt of submissions.
If you require assistance to make your submission please contact committee staff.

Media Statements:PDF icon 10 Nov 2021