Skip to main content

Latest News

Opening of the 41st Parliament

05 May 2021
Governor's addressing members in the legislative council

The 41st Parliament was officially opened on Thursday, 29 April 2021 by His Excellency the Governor, Hon Kim Beazley AC.

Due to the COVID-19 restrictions in place, the traditional ceremony was scaled back, with only members and officials in attendance, and all members and staff wore masks.

The Governor was greeted at the front steps by the President of the Legislative Council Hon Kate Doust, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Hon Michelle Roberts, Premier Hon Mark McGowan, Deputy Premier Hon Roger Cook, Leader of the Opposition Mia Davies, Legislative Council Clerk Nigel Pratt, Legislative Assembly Clerk Kirsten Robinson, Usher of the Black Rod John Seal-Pollard and Sergeant-at-Arms Isla Macphail, where Neville Collard performed a smoking ceremony.

With both the Council and Assembly members sitting together in the Legislative Council, the Governor invited Dr Richard Walley to perform a Welcome to Country. This is the first time a Welcome to Country has been performed during a parliamentary sitting. The Governor then delivered his Address to members and formally declared the 41st Parliament open.

Earlier in the day the members of the Legislative Assembly were sworn in, including Caitlin Collins, member for Hillarys, who became the 100th woman member to be sworn in to the Western Australian Parliament, in the centenary year of Edith Cowan’s election to Parliament in 1921. The Legislative Assembly also elected its first woman Speaker, Hon Michelle Roberts. Madam Speaker was first elected in 1994 and is the longest serving current member of Parliament.

The newly elected Members of the Legislative Council will officially take their seats on 22 May 2021.

Watch the proceedings in the Legislative Council or Legislative Assembly.
Read Hansard – Legislative Council or Legislative Assembly.