Skip to main content

Latest News

Swearing-in of Legislative Council

20 May 2021
Legislative Council Chamber

The members who were elected to the Legislative Council at the State Election on 13 March 2021 commenced their four-year terms on 22 May 2021 and were sworn in as members by Hon Kim Beazley AC on Monday, 24 May.

At the first sitting of the newly sworn in Legislative Council on Tuesday, 25 May, Hon Alanna Clohesy MLC was unanimously elected as President of the Legislative Council.

The 17 new members of the Legislative Council will make their inaugural speeches over the next two weeks.

Watch the proceedings live.
Watch the swearing-in ceremony.
Read Hansard.