Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 14/02/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 14/02/2023
  • The Legislative Council meets on 14/02/2023 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 14/02/2023
  • The Select Committee into Child Development Services meets tomorrow (10:00 AM)
    Committee meet tomorrow

NAIDOC 2021 Heal Country logo

NAIDOC 2021 – Heal Country!

Calls for all of us to continue to seek greater protections for our lands, our waters, our sacred sites and our cultural heritage from exploitation, desecration, and destruction.

Acknowlegement of Country

Acknowlegement of Country

There is an acknowledge to country in both the Legislative Council and Assembly at the beginning of each sitting day and at the opening of each new Parliament. This year, Dr Richard Walley OAM performed the first Welcome to Country during a parliamentary sitting. Dr Walley spoke in both Noongar and English and played a song called Djinanginy Bo, which is to remind us of where we are, who we are, where we come from and who we are responsible for.

The Aboriginal Peoples Place

Aboriginal Peoples Room Foyer

Opened in 2004, the Aboriginal Peoples Room and Gallery established a unique space to recognise the state’s First Peoples heritage and culture. View Parliaments Aboriginal Art Collection.

Indigenous Voices

Image of Hon Rosie Sahanna MLC

Indigenous voices have been strengthened in the Western Australian Parliament with the election of Rosie Sahanna, the first Indigenous person elected to the Legislative Council.

Indigenous MLA's

Image of Hon Rosie Sahanna MLC

Indigenous people representation has continued with Divina D'Anna, MLA elected to the seat of Kimberley in the 2021 State Election. She succeeded Josie Farrer MLA who retired. Other indigenous members who have held this seat are Carol Martin the first indigenous woman to be elected to an Australian Parliament and Ernie Bridge the first Indigenous person to win a seat in the WA Parliament in 1980. Hon Ben Wyatt, MLA for Victoria Park became the first Indigenous person to become a Treasurer in any Australian Government.

Constitutional Recognition

Cover of Recognition Act

Aboriginal people were formally recognised as the first people and traditional custodians of WA after MLA Josie Farrer’s Bill amending the State’s constitution passed through parliament in 2015. The then Premier Colin Barnett congratulated Josie Farrer, the member for Kimberley, who said it was an exciting and happy day.

Student and Teacher Resources

Cover of Recognition Act

Aboriginal Teacher and Student workbooks provide a culturally responsive and engaging resource for Aboriginal English as an Additional Language or Dialect (EAL/D) students from remote and regional areas who are not able to visit Parliament House.