Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 07/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 07/05/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 07/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 07/05/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 29/04/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 29/04/2024

Hillarys Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Hillarys Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Hillarys electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Hillarys electorate map

PDF version of the North Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 25
Number of Electors: 29,875
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
This suburb is named after Bertram John Hillary, a Gallipoli war veteran who died in 1957 at the age of 62, and who set up the first beach shack on a lonely stretch of beach in 1930. That beach eventually came to be named after its best known inhabitant, courtesy of the Army which had use of the land during World War 2. The name was suggested as a suburb name by the Shire of Wanneroo, and was approved in 1971.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Beldon; Craigie; Hillarys; Kallaroo; Mullaloo; Padbury
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
North Metropolitan

Local Governments within Electorate:
City of Joondalup; Statistical Profile of City of Joondalup

Government: Bambara Primary School; Beldon Education Support Centre; Beldon Primary School; Belridge Secondary College; Belridge Secondary Education Support Centre; Craigie Heights Primary School; Hillarys Primary School; Mullaloo Beach Primary School; Mullaloo Heights Primary School; Padbury Primary School; School Of Special Education Needs: Sensory; School Of Special Educational Needs: Behaviour And Engagement; South Padbury Primary School; Springfield Primary School; West Coast Language Development Centre.

Other: Padbury Catholic Primary School; St Mark's Anglican Community School; Whitford Catholic Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Wanneroo Times
  • Joondalup Times

Statistical Profile of the Hillarys Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Caitlin Collins (ALP)

Caitlin is local high school teacher who has taught English all over the world. She has also worked in a remote Aboriginal community in the East Kimberley, working on sustainable community development programs.

At university, she achieved first class honours in politics and international relations with a focus on counterterrorism.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Hillarys Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1994

Name Party Term
Robert (Rob) Frank Johnson Liberal Party 1996 - 2017
Peter Argyris Katsambanis Liberal Party 2017 - 2021
Caitlin Collins Australian Labor Party 2021 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)