Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 07/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 07/05/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 07/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 07/05/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 29/04/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 29/04/2024

Joondalup Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Joondalup Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Joondalup electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Joondalup electorate map

PDF version of the North Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 32
Number of Electors: 28,935
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
This suburb is named after Lake Joondalup, situated on the eastern side of the suburb. Joondalup is an Aboriginal word first recorded in 1837, and possibly means "place of whiteness or glistening". Another account states that a 'joondal' is a creature that can only move backwards.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns with the Electorate:
Connolly; Currambine *; Edgewater; Heathridge; Iluka; Joondalup; Ocean Reef
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
North Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Joondalup; Statistical Profile of City of Joondalup

Government: Beaumaris Primary School; Connolly Primary School; Eddystone Primary School; Edgewater Primary School; Heathridge Primary School; Joondalup Education Support Centre; Joondalup Primary School; Ocean Reef Primary School; Ocean Reef Senior High School; Poseidon Primary School.

Other: Lake Joondalup Baptist College; Mater Dei College; Prendiville Catholic College; St Simon Peter Catholic Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Joondalup Times
  • Joondalup Weekender

Books about Joondalup:
  • Alan Lloyd: Saving Hepburn Heights bushland: the saga of the Hepburn Heights bushland reserve campaign (220p. Friends of Hepburn and Pinnaroo Bushland, 2009)

Statistical Profile of the Joondalup Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Emily Hamilton (ALP)

Raising a young family in the electorate of Joondalup, Emily Hamilton understands what is important to local residents.

Emily Hamilton has lived in the northern suburbs her entire life. Emily went to high school in the northern suburbs and completed a Bachelor of Politics and Law. She is Deputy Government Whip in the Legislative Assembly.

As a working mum with two young children, Emily is an active member of her community. She is a Community Representative on the Joondalup Health Campus Community Board of Advice, and School Board Chair at the Beldon Education Support Centre, as well as Ocean Ridge Cricket Club patron, and Vice Patron of the Mullaloo Surf Life Saving Club.

Emily is committed to ensuring job opportunities in Joondalup, accessible healthcare close to home, and the best schools for kids.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Joondalup Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1988

Name Party Term
Jacqueline Patricia Watkins Australian Labor Party 1983 - 1998
Constituency abolished under Redistribution of Seats 1988. Constituency revived under Redistribution of Seats 1994.
Christopher (Chris) John Baker Liberal Party 1996 - 2001
Anthony (Tony) O'Gorman Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2013
Jan-Henrik (Jan) Norberger Liberal Party 2013 - 2017
Emily Hamilton Australian Labor Party 2017 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)