Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/03/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 12/03/2024
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 13/03/2024 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 13/03/2024

Mirrabooka Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Mirrabooka Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Mirrabooka electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Mirrabook electorate map

PDF version of the East Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 24
Number of Electors: 29,946
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Mirrabooka is an Aboriginal word for the Southern Cross constellation. The name was proposed by the state government in 1954 for a large tract of land to be developed for public housing. It was named the "Mirrabooka Project", but the area now known as Mirrabooka was only named as a suburb in 1980.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate :
Balga; Dianella *; Girrawheen; Koondoola; Marangaroo; Mirrabooka
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
East Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Wanneroo ; Statistical Profile of City of Wanneroo
City of Stirling

Government: Balga Primary School; Balga Senior High School; Boyare Primary School; Burbridge School; Dryandra Primary School; Girrawheen Senior High School; Gladys Newton School; Hudson Park Primary School; Koondoola Primary School; Marangaroo Primary School; North Balga Primary School; Rawlinson Primary School; Roseworth Education Support Centre; Roseworth Primary School; Waddington Primary School; Warriapendi Primary School.

Other: Emmanuel Christian Community School; John Septimus Roe Anglican Community School; Majella Catholic Primary School; Mercy College; Our Lady Of Mercy Primary School; St Andrew's Grammar.

Local Newspapers:
  • Eastern Suburbs Reporter

Statistical Profile of the Mirrabooka Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Meredith Hammat (ALP)

As the daughter of a sheep farmer and a nurse, Meredith learned about hard work and the importance of community while growing up in Western Australia’s Great Southern region.

She has fought for secure jobs and fairness for Western Australian workers for over 25 years – at the Australian Services union and then as Secretary of UnionsWA.

Meredith is Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Transport; Tourism. Also Parliament Secretary to the Minister for Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Mirrabooka Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Name Party Term
Janine Freeman Australian Labor Party 2008 - 2021
Meredith Hammat Australian Labor Party 2021 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)