Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 11/10/2022 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 11/10/2022
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 18/10/2022 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 18/10/2022
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 28/09/2022 (10:00 AM)
    Committee meet 28/09/2022

Rockingham Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Rockingham Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Rockingham electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Rockingham Electorate map

PDF version of the South Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 49
Number of Electors: 29,259
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Rockingham is named after the ship Rockingham which ran aground in 1830 on the beach which fronts the suburb. The ship was the last of three ships to bring Thomas Peel's settlers to the new colony, and although initially salvaged, was eventually sunk in Cockburn Sound. The site of Rockingham was identified by J.S. Roe, Surveyor General, in 1846, and a townsite was surveyed here by Alfred Hillman in 1847.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Cooloongup *; East Rockingham; Garden Island; Hillman; Peron; Rockingham; Safety Bay; Shoalwater; Waikiki *
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Rockingham; Statistical Profile of City of Rockingham

Government: Bungaree Primary School; Charthouse Primary School; Cooloongup Primary School; East Waikiki Primary School; Hillman Primary School; Malibu School; Rockingham Beach Education Support Centre; Rockingham Beach Primary School; Rockingham Senior High School; Rockingham Senior High School Education Support Centre; Safety Bay Primary School; Safety Bay Senior High School.

Other: Kolbe Catholic College; Rockingham Montessori School; South Metropolitan Youth Link Community College; Star Of The Sea Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Sound Telegraph
  • Weekend Courier

Books about Rockingham
  • Rishard Draper: Rockingham - the visions unfold, a history of the Rockingham District (426p. City of Rockingham, 1997)
  • V Fall: The sea and the forest - a history of the Port of Rockingham, Western Australia (213p. UWA Press, 1972)

Statistical Profile of the Rockingham Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Mark McGowan (ALP)

Mark McGowan believes in the value of hard work and merit but very much supports the values of equality, opportunity and compassion. He learned these values early, growing up in regional New South Wales, where his parents ran small businesses and educated their two sons at public schools.

Mark studied arts and law at the University of Queensland and began his career in public service in the Royal Australian Navy, going on to serve as a Lieutenant at HMAS STIRLING.

Mark was the Deputy Mayor of Rockingham before winning the State seat of Rockingham in December 1996.

In the years since his election to the Western Australian Parliament, Mark has held many senior portfolios in both Government and Opposition.

In the 2017 State Election Mark became the 30th Premier of Western Australia. He is currently the Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; and Federal-State Relations.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Successive Members for the Rockingham Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Michael Barnett Australian Labor Party 1974 - 1996
Mark McGowan Australian Labor Party 1996 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)