Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/03/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 12/03/2024
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 13/03/2024 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 13/03/2024

West Swan Electorate Profile (2021)

About the West Swan Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the West Swan electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the West Swan Electorate map

PDF version of the East Metropolitan Region Electorate map

Area (sq km): 126
Number of Electors: 32,247
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
The electorate of West Swan took its name from the name of the local council.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Aveley *; Ballajura; Belhus; Bennett Springs *; Brabham; Cullacabardee; Dayton; Ellenbrook *; Henley Brook; Lexia; Malaga; The Vines *; West Swan *; Whiteman
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
East Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Swan; Statistical Profile of City of Swan

Government: Aveley North Primary School; Aveley Primary School; Ballajura Community College; Ballajura Primary School; Brabham Primary School; Caversham Primary School; Dayton Primary School; Ellenbrook Primary School; Ellenbrook Secondary College; Henley Brook Primary School; Illawarra Primary School; South Ballajura Education Support Centre; South Ballajura Primary School.

Other: Ellenbrook Christian College; Mary Mackillop Catholic Community Primary School; Riverlands Montessori School; St Helena's Catholic Primary School; Swan Valley Anglican Community School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Eastern Suburbs Reporter
  • Kalamunda Reporter
  • Midland Reporter


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Rita Saffioti (ALP)

Rita’s parents migrated post-war to Australia from Calabria, Italy and moved to Roleystone in the Perth Hills to establish an orchard. Rita grew up on the family orchard and worked during the school holidays and weekends helping pack and sort the fruit.

After graduating from university, Rita worked as an economist in Canberra and in Perth before being elected to State Parliament in 2008.

When not at Parliament or with her family, Rita can usually be found at the footy cheering on her team, the Fremantle Dockers.

Rita is currently the Deputy Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Transport; Tourism.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Statistical Profile of the West Swan Electorate

Successive Members for the West Swan Electorate

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 2007

Name Party Term
Rita Saffioti Australian Labor Party 2008 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)