Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 28/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 28/05/2024
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024

Bunbury Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Bunbury Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Bunbury electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Bunbury Electorate map

PDF version of the South West Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 111
Number of Electors: 30,474
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Bunbury is named in honour of Lieutenant Henry William St. Pierre Bunbury (1812-1875) of the 21st Fusiliers. Bunbury carried out explorations in this area in 1836, and in a book of his letters and papers published in 1930 he wrote of Bunbury " A township has been formed, or at least laid down on the maps, comprising the southern promontory and part of the north beach at the entrance of Port Leschenault Inlet, which the Governor named "Bunbury" in compliment to me ..." In 1830 Lt Governor Stirling caused a military station to be established at Port Leschenault under the command of Lt McLeod, but it only lasted six months. Bunbury township was mentioned in the Government Gazette in 1839, but lots in the town were not surveyed until 1841, and these were declared open for selection in March 1841.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Bunbury; Carey Park; College Grove; Dalyellup; Davenport; East Bunbury; Gelorup *; Glen Iris; Pelican Point; Picton; South Bunbury; Stirling Estate *; Stratham *; Usher; Vittoria; Withers
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South West

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Bunbury
Shire of Capel

Government: Adam Road Primary School; Bunbury Primary School; Bunbury Senior High School; Carey Park Primary School; College Row School; Cooinda Primary School; Dalyellup College; Dalyellup Primary School; Djidi Djidi Aboriginal School; Maidens Park Primary School; Manea Senior College; Newton Moore Education Support Centre; Newton Moore Senior High School; Picton Primary School; South Bunbury Education Support Centre; South Bunbury Primary School; Tuart Forest Primary School.

Other: Bunbury Baptist College; Bunbury Cathedral Grammar School; Bunbury Catholic College; Bunbury Regional Community College; Grace Christian School; St Joseph's Primary School; St Mary's Catholic Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • South Western Times
  • Bunbury Herald
  • Bunbury Mail
  • Great Southern Herald
  • Narrogin Observer

Books about Bunbury:
  • Anthony J Barker: Excellent connections - a history of Bunbury, Western Australia, 1836-1990 (409p. City of Bunbury, 1992)
  • Freda Vines: Bunbury and Busselton sketchbook (64p. Rigby 1975)
  • Phyllis Barnes: Marlston Hill and all that (198p. P. Barnes, 2001)
  • Phyllis Barnes: Bunbury images - people and places (100p. P. Barnes, 2004)
  • John Wollaston: Wollaston's Picton journal 1841-1844 (321p. Pitman, 1948)

Statistical Profile of the Bunbury Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Don Punch (ALP)

Don arrived in Australia as a 14-year-old looking for a better life. He joined his brother Tony and his wife Ann in Manjimup, went back to school after a long absence, eventually attending University and graduating as a Psychologist and Social Worker.

Don worked in community services throughout the South West and eventually throughout regional Western Australia as a member of the Executive Service of the Public Sector.

In 1998 Don became the CEO of the South West Development Commission and worked on projects as varied as supporting the development of aged care services, youth services, town centre renewal programs, and tourism development. More recently Don was responsible for developing and taking through Government major business cases for projects such as the Busselton Airport, Bunbury Port and the Bunbury waterfront. Don left the SWDC in July 2016 to stand for the Seat of Bunbury.

Don is the Minister for Regional Development; Disability Services; Fisheries; Seniors and Ageing; Volunteering.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook, Twitter

Successive Members for the Bunbury Electorate

Name Party Term
Sir John Forrest Ministerialist 1880 - 1894,1894 - 1901
Thomas Hayward Ministerialist 1901 - 1904
Sir Newton James Moore Ministerialist 1904 - 1911
William Lemen Thomas Australian Labor Party 1911b - 1917
Griffin Cant Money Nationalist 1917 - 1925
Frederick James Withers Australian Labor Party 1924 - 1947
James Murray Liberal 1947 - 1950
Frank Guthrie Australian Labor Party 1950 - 1955
George Frederick Roberts Lib. & Country League 1955b - 1962
Maurice Clifford Williams Lib. & Country League 1962b - 1973
John Sibson Liberal 1973b - 1983
Philip John Smith Australian Labor Party 1983 - 1993
Ian Frederick Osborne Liberal 1993 - 2001
Anthony (Tony) James Dean Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2005
Giovanni (John) Mario Castrilli Liberal 2005 - 2017
Don Punch Australian Labor Party 2017 -

b = by-election
Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)