Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets today (01:00 PM)Watch live
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 10/06/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 10/06/2024

Collie-Preston Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Collie-Preston Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Collie-Preston electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Collie-Preston electorate map

PDF version of the South West Region map

Area (sq km): 4,001
Number of Electors: 30,741
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
The townsite of Collie is located in the south west agricultural region, 202 kilometres south south east of Perth, and about 50 kilometres east of Bunbury. It is situated on the Collie River after which it is named. The river, which rises in the Darling Range and flows into Leschenault Estuary near Bunbury, is named after Dr Alexander Collie. Collie, a Royal Navy surgeon, and Lt. William Preston of HMS Sulphur, explored this country and discovered the river in 1829, and Captain James Stirling, the Lieutenant Governor, named it in Collie's honour. Collie was appointed the first Resident Magistrate at Albany in 1831, was later appointed Colonial Surgeon, and died at Albany in 1836.
The townsite of Preston is located in the south west agricultural region, 228 km south of Perth and 18 km from Donnybrook in the Preston River valley. It derives its name from the river on which it is located, which was named in honour of Lieutenant William Preston RN, its discoverer along with Dr Alexander Collie in November 1829.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Allanson; Argyle; Australind *; Beelerup; Boyanup; Brazier; Brookhampton; Buckingham; Burekup; Capel; Cardiff; Charley Creek; Collie; Collie Burn; Crooked Brook; Dardanup; Dardanup West; Donnybrook; Eaton; Elgin; Ferguson; Forrest Beach; Gelorup *; Glen Mervyn; Gwindinup; Harris River; Henty; Kirup; Lowden; Ludlow *; Lyalls Mill; Millbridge; Muja; Mumballup; Mungalup; Newlands; Noggerup; North Boyanup; Palmer; Paradise; Paynedale; Peppermint Grove Beach; Picton East; Preston Settlement; Queenwood; Roelands; Shotts; Stirling Estate *; Stratham *; The Plains; Thomson Brook; Upper Capel; Waterloo; Wellington Forest; Wellington Mill; Wilga West; Worsley; Yabberup; Yourdamung Lake
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South West

Local Governments within Electorate:
Shire of Capel
Shire of Collie
Shire of Dardanup
Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
Shire of Harvey

Government: Allanson Primary School; Amaroo Primary School; Australind Primary School; Australind Senior High School; Boyanup Primary School; Capel Primary School; Clifton Park Primary School; Collie Senior High School; Dardanup Primary School; Donnybrook District High School; Eaton Community College; Eaton Primary School; Fairview Primary School; Glen Huon Primary School; Kirup Primary School; River Valley Primary School; Treendale Primary School; Wilson Park Primary School.

Other: Child Side School; Hope Christian College; Leschenault Catholic Primary School; Our Lady Of Lourdes School; South West John Calvin Christian College; St Brigid's School; St Mary's School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Collie Mail
  • Donnybrook Bridgetown Mail

Books about Collie-Preston:
  • John Bird: A rich and diverse heritage - a snapshot of Collie 1898-2010 (270p. Collie Heritage Group, 2010)
  • L W Johnson: A history of the Collie coal-mining industry (279p. 1956)
  • Catherine Stedman: 100 years of Collie Coal (363p. Curtin University of Technology, 1988)
  • H W Williams: One day in Collie (181p. Shire of Collie, 1979)

Statistical Profile of the Collie-Preston Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Jodie Hanns (ALP)

Jodie lives locally with her family. Born and raised in Yarloop, Mrs Hanns moved to Collie in 2005 to teach at Collie Senior High School and rose to the position of deputy principal.

Jodie is committed to continuing the hard work of friend, and former MLA, Mick Murray, and championing the South West to ensure a strong future for our families.

Jodie is working to create more local jobs, deliver new infrastructure projects and provide quality health and education services for communities like Collie, Eaton, Capel, Dardanup, Donnybrook and Australind.

Jodie is Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Emergency Services; Innovation and the Digital Economy; Science; Medical Research; Minister assisting the Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Collie-Preston Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007 - Previously Collie-Wellington

Name Party Term
Michael (Mick) Philip Murray Australian Labor Party 2001 (as MLA for Collie) - 2021
Jodie Hanns Australian Labor Party 2021 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)