Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 10/10/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 10/10/2023
  • The Legislative Council meets on 10/10/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 10/10/2023
  • The Community Development meets today (01:00 PM)Watch live

Cottesloe Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Cottesloe Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Cottesloe electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Cottesloe Electorate map

PDF version of the North Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 38
Number of Electors: 31,219
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
In September 1886, the Commissioner of Crown Lands, John Forrest, announced his intention of subdividing an area of crown land between Perth and Fremantle into suburban lots and asked His Excellency, Governor Sir Frederick Napier Broome, to suggest a name. The Governor suggested "Cottesloe" on 21 September after "the title lately bestowed on a member of the Fremantle family". "Cottesloe" was named after Thomas Francis Fremantle, Lord Cottesloe, first Baron of Swanbourne (in 1874), the older brother to Captain Charles Howe Fremantle who, on 2 May 1829 raised the first British flag at Fremantle.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
City Beach *; Claremont *; Cottesloe; Dalkeith *; Mosman Park; Mt Claremont *; North Fremantle; Peppermint Grove; Swanbourne
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
North Metropolitan

Local Governments within Electorate:
Shire of Peppermint Grove
City of Fremantle; Statistical Profile of City of Fremantle
City of Nedlands
Town of Claremont; Statistical Profile of Town of Claremont
Town of Cottesloe
Town of Mosman Park
Town of Cambridge; Statistical Profile of Town of Cambridge

Government: City Beach Primary School; Cottesloe Primary School; Freshwater Bay Primary School; Mosman Park Primary School; Mosman Park School For Deaf Children; Mount Claremont Primary School; North Cottesloe Primary School; North Fremantle Primary School; Swanbourne Primary School.

Other: Christ Church Grammar School; Iona Presentation College; John Xxiii College; Methodist Ladies' College; Presbyterian Ladies College; Scotch College; St Hilda's Anglican School For Girls; St Thomas' Primary School; The Beehive Montessori School Inc; The Japanese School In Perth.

Local Newspapers:
  • Collie Mail
  • Donnybrook Bridgetown Mail

Books about Cottesloe:
  • Ruth Marchant James: Cottesloe - a town of distinction (414p. Town of Cottesloe, 2007)
  • Ruth Marchant James: Heritage of pines - a history of the Town of Cottesloe Western Australia (133p. Town of Cottesloe, 1977)/li>
  • Maxine Laurie: Ten decades - a photographic history of the Town of Cottesloe (64p. Town of Cottesloe, 1995)
  • Katherine Wallace: Beaches, bush & riverbanks - memories of Cottesloe, Peppermint Grove & Mosman Park (165p. Cottesloe-Peppermint Grove-Mosman Park Library, 2006
  • H S G Downey: Mosman Park, Western Australia (75p. UWA Press, 1971)
  • Robert Pascoe: Peppermint Grove - Western Australia's capital suburb (168p. OUP, 1983)
  • Geoffrey Bolton: Claremont: a history (244p. UWA Press, 1999)
  • A Lovekin: Butler's "Hump", more recently known as Keane's Point - a short historical sketch (44p. Dix & Co, 1918)

Statistical Profile of the Cottesloe Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

David Honey (LIB)

David was raised on a farm at Cranbrook in the South West of Western Australia. He is married and has 6 children. David has lived in the Cottesloe electorate for 33 years.

David completed a Bachelor of Science with 1st Class Honours and a PhD in Chemistry at the University of Western Australia. He has held technical roles including as a Forensic Scientist and Environmental Scientist with the State Government and also formed the Hydrometallurgy Research Group for Western Mining Corporation.

Most recently David was the Global Residue Manager for Alcoa’s Refining operations, having overall accountability for the refining residue operations in the United States, Spain, Brazil and Australia.

David is the Shadow Minister for State Development; Water; Hydrogen; Small Business; Science; Innovation & ICT.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Cottesloe Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1948

Name Party Term
Ross Hutchinson Lib & Country League 1950 - 1977
William (Bill) Ralph Boucher Hassell Liberal Party 1977 - 1990
Colin James Barnett Liberal Party 1990b -2018
David John Honey (Dr) Liberal Party 2018b -

b = by-election
Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)