Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets today (01:00 PM)Watch live
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/03/2024
  • The Estimates Committee meets tomorrow (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet tomorrow

Forrestfield Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Forrestfield Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Forrestfield electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Forrestfield electorate map

PDF version of the East Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 58
Number of Electors: 28,005
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Local folklore suggests that the name comes from Charles Hale who settled here in 1902 and planted a crop amongst the trees. A neighbour referred to him wanting a forest and a field at the same time and the name was later applied to the area. It is believed however, to honour John or Alexander Forrest, although their connection with the area has not been established. A Forrest Field Progress Association was formed as early as 1927 and the name is shown on plans as Forrestfield for 1944.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Gooseberry Hill *; High Wycombe; Kenwick *; Kewdale *; Maddington *; Maida Vale *; Orange Grove *; Wattle Grove
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
East Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Gosnells; Statistical Profile of City of Gosnells
City of Kalamunda; Statistical Profile of City of Kalamunda

Government: Darling Range Sports College; Dawson Park Primary School; East Kenwick Primary School; Edney Primary School; Forrestfield Primary School; High Wycombe Primary School; Kenwick School; Maida Vale Primary School; Wattle Grove Primary School; Woodlupine Primary School.

Other: Communicare Academy; Heritage College Perth; Hillside Christian College; Matthew Gibney Catholic Primary School; Rehoboth Christian College; St Francis' School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Hills Gazette
  • Echo
  • Kalamunda Reporter
  • Comment News
  • Gosnells Examiner
  • Southern Gazette

Statistical Profile of the Forrestfield Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Stephen Price (ALP)

Growing up as a son of small business owners in regional WA has given Stephen Price invaluable insight and appreciation into the challenges of operating a small business.

After completing his schooling in Harvey and Bunbury, Stephen started his working career as a fly-in, fly-out gold miner before working at an alumina refinery, where he played a key role in improving health and safety programs on work sites.

During his career as an elected official of the Australian Workers’ Union, he was involved in workplace negotiations to improve wages and conditions for West Australian workers; Stephen has also served as a volunteer with the West Dardanup Volunteer Bushfire Brigade, Captain and Deputy Chief Bushfire Control Officer for the Shire of Dardanup and a trainer for Bushfire Brigade volunteers.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Forrestfield Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Name Party Term
Andrew John Waddell Australian Labor Party 2008 - 2013
Nathan Morton Liberal Party 2013 - 2017
Stephen Price Australian Labor Party 2017 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)