Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/03/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 12/03/2024
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 13/03/2024 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 13/03/2024

Mount Lawley Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Mount Lawley Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Mount Lawley electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Mount Lawley Electorate map

PDF version of the East Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 18
Number of Electors: 29,695
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
At the beginning of the twentieth century the whole of the Mount Lawley area was undeveloped bushland. At this time the Mount Lawley estate was purchased by Messrs Samuel W Copley and R T Robinson, who set out with the object of making this an attractive suburb, with the right type of home, and with every possible encouragement given to householders to create a garden suburb. Mount Lawley received its name in recognition of Sir Arthur Lawley, who was Governor of Western Australia for 15 months in 1901-02. Governor Lawley was born in 1860, and had a distinguished career in the British Army, and the Colonial Service.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Coolbinia *; Dianella *; East Perth *; Inglewood *; Maylands *; Menora; Morley *; Mt Lawley *; Yokine
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
East Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Bayswater
City of Stirling
City of Vincent ; Statistical Profile of City of Vincent

Government: Coolbinia Primary School; Mount Lawley Primary School; Mount Lawley Senior High School; North East Metropolitan Language Development Centre; Sir David Brand School; Sutherland Dianella Primary School; West Morley Primary School; Yokine Primary School.

Other: Australian Islamic College - North Of The River; Banksia Montessori School; Carmel School; Infant Jesus School; Our Lady's Assumption School; Perth College; St Paul's Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Guardian Express

Statistical Profile of the Mount Lawley Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Simon Millman (ALP)

Simon Millman became the Member for the electorate of Mount Lawley at the 2017 State Election. Simon and his wife were married in the local church and his two young boys were born at the local hospital.

Simon is passionate about his local area, having lived there for many years. After graduating from UWA, he practiced law. He specialised in workers’ compensation, personal injury, discrimination law and asbestos-related diseases.

He is currently Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health; Mental Health.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Successive Members for the Mount Lawley Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Name Party Term
Michael William Sutherland Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Simon Millman Australian Labor Party 2017 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)