Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets today (01:00 PM)Watch live
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 10/06/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 10/06/2024

Murray-Wellington Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Murray-Wellington Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Murray-Wellington electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Murray-Wellington Electorate map

PDF version of the South West Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 4,352
Number of Electors: 30,395
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Murray comes from the Murray River and Murray Land District, both named after Sir George Murray, Secretary of State for the Colonies 1828-30. Murray was born in the historic Royal Burgh of Perth in Scotland and represented his birthplace in the House of Commons.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns with the Electorate:
Australind *; Barragup; Beela; Benger; Binningup; Birchmont; Blythewood; Bouvard; Brunswick; Cookernup; Coolup; Dwellingup; Fairbridge; Furnissdale; Hamel; Harvey; Herron; Hoffman; Holyoake; Inglehope; Keysbrook *; Lake Clifton; Leschenault; Marrinup; Meelon; Mornington; Myalup; Myara; Nambeelup; Nanga Brook; Nirimba; North Dandalup; North Yunderup; Oakley; Parkfield; Pinjarra; Point Grey; Preston Beach; Ravenswood; South Yunderup; Stake Hill; Teesdale; Uduc; Wagerup; Warawarrup; Waroona; Wellesley; West Coolup; West Pinjarra; Whittaker; Wokalup; Yarloop
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South West

Local Governments within the Electorate:
Shire of Harvey; Statistical Profile of Shire of Harvey
City of Mandurah; Statistical Profile of City of Mandurah
Shire of Murray
Shire of Waroona

Government: Brunswick Junction Primary School; Carcoola Primary School; Dwellingup Primary School; Harvey Primary School; Harvey Senior High School; Kingston Primary School; North Dandalup Primary School; Parkfield Primary School; Pinjarra Primary School; Pinjarra Senior High School; Waroona District High School; Western Australian College Of Agriculture - Harvey; Yarloop Primary School.

Other: Austin Cove Baptist College; Fairbridge College; Our Lady Of Mercy College; St Anne's School; St Joseph's Catholic Primary School; St Joseph's School; St Michael's School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Harvey Mail
  • Harvey Leschenault Reporter

Books about Murray-Wellington:
  • Laurie Snell: Drakesbrook days and Waroona years (250p. Shire of Waroona, 1986)
  • Ronald Richards: Murray and Mandurah: a sequel history of the old Murray District of Western Australia (658p. Shire of Murray, 1993)
  • Ronald Richards: The Murray District of Western Australia, a history (500p. Shire of Murray, 1978)
  • Ruby Fairbridge: The building of a farm school (239p. OUP, 1937)
  • Geoff Fortune: Yarloop, there was no better place (188p. Interesting Publications, 2004)

Statistical Profile of the Murray-Wellington Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Robyn Clarke (ALP)

Robyn Clarke was elected to the West Australian Parliament as the Member for Murray-Wellington on March 11 2017. The electorate extends from the southern part of Keysbrook in the north to the northern part of Australind in the south, including the majority of the Shires of Murray and Harvey, and all of the Shire of Waroona.

Robyn grew up in Perth, and spent her weekends in Lake Clifton where her parents worked at the Lake Clifton Tavern. This has given her a strong connection to the electorate from a young age.

Prior to being elected into Parliament, Robyn had worked across a range of industries including banking, media, health and owned a small business. This experience has given Robyn an understanding of the difficulties that small business owners face, and of the importance of being able to deliver on your word.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Successive Members for the Murray-Wellington Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Name Party Term
Murray John Cowper Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Robyn Marjorie Jane Clarke Australian Labor Party 2017 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)