Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets today (01:00 PM)Watch live
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 10/06/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 10/06/2024

Nedlands Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Nedlands Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Nedlands electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Nedlands Electorate map

PDF version of the North Metropolitan Region Electorate map

Area (sq km): 31
Number of Electors: 30,290
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
In 1854, Colonel John Bruce, Military Commandant of the Colony, bought land in this area, intending the land to be the heritage of his son Edward. He is said to have referred to the estate as "Ned's Land". Edward Bruce, later Major Edward Bruce of the 19th Bengal Lancers, visited Western Australia in 1883 and on a mortgage dated 29 June in that year, the various locations left to him by his father are described as being the land "known as Nedlands". Development of the area mainly occurred between 1910 and 1920.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Claremont *; Crawley *; Daglish; Dalkeith *; Floreat *; Jolimont; Karrakatta; Mt Claremont *; Nedlands; Shenton Park; Subiaco; Wembley *; West Leederville *; West Perth *
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
North Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Nedlands
City of Perth; Statistical Profile of City of Perth
City of Subiaco; Statistical Profile of City of Subiaco
Town of Claremont; Statistical Profile of Town of Claremont
Town of Cambridge; Statistical Profile of Town of Cambridge

Government: Bob Hawke College; Dalkeith Primary School; Hollywood Primary School; Jolimont Primary School; Nedlands Primary School; Perth Modern School; Rosalie Primary School; Shenton College; Shenton College Deaf Education Centre; Subiaco Primary School.

Other: Loreto Nedlands; Moerlina School; Quintilian School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Claremont-Nedlands Post
  • Western Suburbs Weekly

Books about Nedlands
  • A E Williams: Nedlands, from campsite to city (361p. City of Nedlands, 1984)
  • M R Clarke: Asteroids on the Swan (3 vols, Educational Publishers, 1993-1998)
  • Ken Spillman: Tales of a singular city - Subiaco since the 1970s (356p. City of Subiaco, 2006)
  • Ken Spillman: Identity prized - a history of Subiaco (365p. UWA Press, 1985)
  • Leonie Liveris: Memories eternal - the first 100 years of Karrakatta (311p. Metropolitan Cemeteries Board, 1999)
  • Ann Whyntie: The history of Sunset Hospital (186p, 1999)
  • Pamela Mikus: Graylands: the evolution of a suburb (Murdoch University thesis, 2013)
  • Libby Wailenborn (ed): The spiders won't eat you (2002)
  • Sofia Boranga: Unravelling Hammond Road (2004)
  • Leanne Bicknell: A comfortable and friendly place (1998)


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Statistical Profile of the Nedlands Electorate

Current Member

Dr Katrina Stratton (ALP)

Dr Stratton has lived in Nedlands for most of her life, attending Nedlands Primary School, Hollywood High School, and the University of Western Australia.

She has significant experience in social work and business administration, having attained a Bachelor of Social Work, Doctor of Philosophy, and a Masters of Business Administration from UWA.

Before becoming an MP she was managing a large, Western Australian not-for-profit organisation.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Nedlands Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1929

Name Party Term
Norbert Keenan Nationalist 1930 - 1950
David Grayden Liberal 1950 - 1953
Charles Walter Michael Court Liberal 1953 - 1982
Richard Fairfax Court Liberal 1982b - 2001
Susan (Sue) Walker Liberal 2001b - 2008
William (Bill) Richard Marmion Liberal 2008 - 2021
Dr Katrina Stratton Australian Labor Party 2021 -

b = by-election
Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)