Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 11/10/2022 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 11/10/2022
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 18/10/2022 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 18/10/2022
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 10/10/2022 (09:30 AM)
    Committee meet 10/10/2022

Riverton Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Riverton Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Riverton electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Riverton Electorate map

PDF version of the South Metropolitan Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 24
Number of Electors: 29,054
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Riverton derives its name from its location on the banks of the Canning River. The area was subdivided in 1914, and Riverton was referred to locally as Riverton Bridge in 1937 to avoid confusion with the South Australian suburb of Riverton. This name was never formally approved and officially the suburb has always been Riverton.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Brentwood *; Bull Creek; Leeming *; Mt Pleasant *; Riverton; Rossmoyne; Shelley; Willetton
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Canning; Statistical Profile of City of Canning
City of Cockburn; Statistical Profile of City of Cockburn
City of Melville; Statistical Profile of City of Melville

Government: Banksia Park Primary School; Bull Creek Primary School; Burrendah Primary School; Castlereagh School; Oberthur Primary School; Riverton Education Support Centre; Riverton Primary School; Rossmoyne Primary School; Rossmoyne Senior High School; Rostrata Primary School; Shelley Primary School; Willetton Primary School; Willetton Senior High School.

Other: All Saints' College; Oneschool Global WA; Orana Catholic Primary School; Queen Of Apostles School;

Local Newspapers:
  • Canning Times
  • Canning Examiner

Statistical Profile of the Riverton Electorate

Current Member

Dr Jags Krishnan (ALP)

Dr Krishnan completed his undergraduate medical qualifications in India before moving to the UK to continue his studies and to work in the National Health Scheme. He arrived in Perth in 2006 to start the next chapter of his life.

"Dr Jags" has been a GP for over 14 years, and also an Adjunct Associate Clinical Professor of Curtin University’s School of Medicine.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Riverton Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1988

Graham Donald Kierath Liberal Party 1989 - 2001
Anthony (Tony) David McRae Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2008
Dr Michael (Mike) Dennis Nahan Liberal Party 2008 - 2021
Dr Jagadish (Jags) Krishnan Australian Labor Party 2021 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)