Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/03/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 12/03/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 12/03/2024
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 13/03/2024 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 13/03/2024

South Perth Electorate Profile (2021)

About the South Perth Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the South electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of map

South Metropolitan map PDF

Area (sq km): 27
Number of Electors: 29,696
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
South Perth derives its name from its location south of Perth. The area was identified as a separate suburb of Perth as early as 1831, and was the site of Perth's first mill in 1833.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Como; Karawara; Kensington *; Manning; Salter Point; South Perth; Victoria Park *; Waterford
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of South Perth
Town of Victoria Park

Government: Collier Primary School; Como Primary School; Como Secondary College; Curtin Primary School; Kensington Primary School; Manning Primary School; South Perth Primary School.

Other: Aquinas College; Clontarf Aboriginal College; Hensman Street Elementary; Penrhos College; St Columba's Catholic Primary School; St Pius X Catholic School; Wesley College.

Local Newspapers:
  • Stirling Times
Books about South Perth
  • F Crowley: Westralian suburb - the history of South Perth, Western Australia (118p. Rigby, 1962)
  • Phillip Pendal: South Perth - the vanishing village (140p. City of South Perth Historical society, 2002)
  • Cecil Florey: Peninsular city, a social history of the City of South Perth, Western Australia (343p. City of South Perth, 1995)
  • Laurie O'Meara: 100 years on Barney's Hill (2017)

Statistical Profile of the South Perth Electorate


Information about 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Geoff Baker (ALP)

Geoff grew up in Como before moving to the suburb of South Perth in his teens. He went to Koonawara Primary (Now Curtin Primary School) and Collier Primary, then to Wesley College.

Contact details and Speeches


Successive Members for the South Perth Electorate

Constituency created under Constitution Acts Amendment Act 1899

Name Party Term
William Beattie Gordon Ministerialist 1901 - 1904
Constituency abolished under Redistribution of Seats 1903.
Constituency revived under Redistribution of Seats 1948.
George Henry Yates Liberal and Country League 1950 - 1956
William Leonard Grayden Liberal Party 1956 - 1993
Phillip (Phil) George Pendal Liberal Party 1993 - 1995
Phillip (Phil) George Pendal Independent 1995 - 2005
John McGrath Liberal Party 2005 - 2021
Geoff Baker Australian Labor Party 2021 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)