Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets tomorrow (01:00 PM)
    Council sit tomorrow
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 10/06/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 10/06/2024

Vasse Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Vasse Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Vasse electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Vasse Electorate map

PDF version of the South West Region Electorate map

Area (sq km): 2,643
Number of Electors: 31,284
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Named after the Vasse River. The river was named during the French expedition to the southern hemisphere (1800-1803) led by Thomas Nicolas Baudin. It honours the memory of Thomas Timothee Vasse of Dieppe, helmsman on The Naturaliste, drowned near the Vasse Estuary during a gale on 8 June 1801.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Abba River; Abbey; Acton Park; Ambergate; Anniebrook; Boallia; Bovell; Bramley; Broadwater; Busselton; Capel River; Carbunup River; Chapman Hill; Cowaramup; Dunsborough; Eagle Bay; Geographe; Gracetown; Hithergreen; Jarrahwood; Jindong; Kalgup; Kaloorup; Kealy; Ludlow *; Marybrook; Metricup; Naturaliste; Nillup *; North Jindong; Osmington; Quedjinup; Quindalup; Reinscourt; Rosa Brook; Rosa Glen; Ruabon; Sabina River; Siesta Park; Treeton; Tutunup; Vasse; Walsall; West Busselton; Wilyabrup; Wonnerup; Yallingup; Yallingup Siding; Yalyalup; Yelverton; Yoganup; Yoongarillup
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South West

Local Governments within the Electorate:
Shire of Augusta-Margaret River
City of Busselton
Shire of Capel

Government: Busselton Primary School; Busselton Senior High School; Cape Naturaliste College; Cowaramup Primary School; Dunsborough Primary School; Geographe Education Support Centre; Geographe Primary School; Vasse Primary School; West Busselton Primary School.

Other: Cornerstone Christian College Ltd; Georgiana Molloy Anglican School; Our Lady Of The Cape Primary School; St Mary Mackillop College; Yallingup Steiner School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Busselton-Dunsborough Mail
  • Busselton-Dunsborough Times
  • Augusta-Margaret River Mail

Books about Vasse
  • Rodger Jennings: Busselton - 'outstation on the Vasse', 1830-1850 (340p. Shire of Busselton, 1983)
  • Rodger Jennings: Busselton, a place to remember, 1850-1914 (424p. Shire of Busselton, 1999)
  • Reflections of the jetty - the story of Busselton Jetty (111p. Busselton Oral History Group, 2005)
  • Historic Busselton (36p. Busselton Historical Society, 2007)

Statistical Profile of the Vasse Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Libby Mettam (LIB)

Libby has lived in Regional WA for most of her life and in Dunsborough for over 12 years with her husband Jonathan (a local winemaker) and two teenage daughters who attend local schools. Her mum and dad also live down the road.

Libby has served as Vice President of the Dunsborough Yallingup Chamber of Commerce and a board member of MacKillop Catholic College School. She has been closely involved in her kids' education and volunteered as team manager for both her girls' tee-ball, basketball and soccer teams.

Libby is proud to be part of the CinefestOZ Film Festival, promoting tourism and growth in the South West by putting the region on the international stage. She is the Leader of the WA Liberal Party, and Shadow Minister for Health; Mental Health; Prevention of Family & Domestic Violence.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Successive Members for the Vasse Electorate

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1948

Name Party Term
William Stewart Bovell Liberal and Country League 1950 - 1971
Barry Roy Blaikie Liberal Party 1971 - 1996
Bernard (Bernie) Kent Masters Independent Liberal 1996 - 2005
Troy Raymond Buswell Liberal Party 2005 - 2014
Elizabeth (Libby) Mettam Liberal Party 2014b -

b = by-election
Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)