Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 10/10/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 10/10/2023
  • The Legislative Council meets on 10/10/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 10/10/2023
  • The Economics and Industry meets on 11/10/2023 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 11/10/2023
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 18/10/2023 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 18/10/2023

Wanneroo Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Wanneroo Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Wanneroo electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Wanneroo Electorate map

PDF version of the North Metropolitan Region Electorate map

Area (sq km): 454
Number of Electors: 31,301
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
In the early days of the Swan River Colony, the district of Wanneroo represented an "outer" region and it is not until 1834, that an excursion into the area by any explorers or settlers is recorded. In that year, a party of four led by John Butler, travelled about 35 miles north from Perth to search for lost cattle and passed through the area just to the east of Lake Joondalup. Butler stated that the aborigines of the area were "those Wanneroo men who frequent Perth in company with the Yellowgonga tribe." It is not known when early settlers started using the name "Wanneroo", but, as early as 1842, a Surveyor recorded "road to Wanneroo" and in 1844, James Dobbins gave his address as Wanneroo. A government townsite was gazetted as "Wanneru" in August 1907 and it was not until May 1953 that the spelling was amended to "Wanneroo".
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Ashby; Banksia Grove; Carabooda *; Carramar; Gnangara; Jandabup; Mariginiup; Neerabup *; Nowergup; Pinjar; Sinagra; Tapping; Wanneroo
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
North Metropolitan

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Wanneroo; Statistical Profile of City of Wanneroo

Government: Banksia Grove Primary School; Carramar Primary School; East Wanneroo Primary School; Grandis Primary School; Joseph Banks Secondary College; Spring Hill Primary School; Tapping Primary School; Wanneroo Primary School; Wanneroo Secondary College.

Other: St Anthony's School; St John Paul II Catholic Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Wanneroo Times
  • Wanneroo Community

Books about Wanneroo
  • Guy Daniel: The story of Wanneroo (157p. Shire of Wanneroo, 1979)
  • Adrian Chambers: The Pioneers - a story of Wanneroo, 1834-1985 (228p. City of Wanneroo, 1991)
  • Stories of old Wanneroo, as told to Bill Marwick (292p. Wanneroo and Districts Historical Society, 2002)
  • The Times of Wanneroo, as told to Bill Marwick (396p. Wanneroo and Districts Historical Society, 2005)
  • Derek Newton: The wood block road to Wanneroo, celebrating 150 years of settlement (74p. Wanneroo Heritage Art, 2002)
  • John Crisafulli: The history of the Crisafulli family (181p. J Crisafulli, 2003)

Statistical Profile of the Wanneroo Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Sabine Winton (ALP)

Sabine Winton has been a Wanneroo local since 1975. A teacher for over 25 years, Sabine has also been a City of Wanneroo Councillor. Sabine is married with three daughters, and her involvement in junior sports includes netball and Surf Life Saving activities.

As a Councillor she served on many committees and working groups that covered health, road safety, the environment, and reconciliation.

After graduating from Murdoch University with a primary teaching degree, Sabine worked and lived across the state, including in the Goldfields town of Norseman, Fitzroy Crossing in the Kimberley, and the tropical isolation of Cocos Keeling Islands.

Sabine is currently the Minister for Early Childhood Education; Child Protection; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Successive Members for the Wanneroo Electorate

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1988

Name Party Term
Jacqueline Patricia Watkins Australian Labor Party 1989 - 1993
Wayde Shannon Smith Liberal Party 1996 - 1996
Iain Douglas MacLean Liberal Party 1996 - 2001
Dianne Joy Guise Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2008
Paul Terrance Miles Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Sabine Elisabeth Winton Australian Labor Party 2017 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)