Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 13/02/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 13/02/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 27/02/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 27/02/2024

Warren-Blackwood Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Warren-Blackwood Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Warren-Blackwood electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Warren-Blackwood Electorate map

PDF version of the South West Region Electorate map

Area (sq km): 23,045
Number of Electors: 29,887
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
Named after the two rivers in the electorate. The Warren River was discovered in 1831, and was named by Governor Stirling, probably after Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren under whom Stirling served whilst in action in North America in 1813. The Blackwood was also named by Stirling in 1830 after Captain (later Rear Admiral) Sir Henry Blackwood under whom he served in 1808-09 whilst in action in the North Sea and the Mediterranean.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Alexandra Bridge; Augusta; Balbarrup; Balingup; Barrabup; Beedelup; Benjinup; Biddelia; Boorara Brook; Boranup; Bow Bridge; Boyup Brook; Bridgetown; Broke; Burnside; Callcup; Carlotta; Catterick; Channybearup; Chowerup; Collins; Courtenay; Crowea; Cundinup; Darradup; Deanmill; Deepdene; Denbarker; Denmark; Diamond Tree; Dingup; Dinninup; Dixvale; Donnelly River; East Augusta; East Nannup; Eastbrook; Forest Grove; Forest Hill; Glenlynn; Glenoran; Gnarabup; Greenbushes; Hamelin Bay; Hay; Hazelvale; Hester; Hester Brook; Jalbarragup; Jardee; Kangaroo Gully; Karridale; Kendenup; Kentdale; Kingston; Kordabup; Kudardup; Kulikup; Lake Jasper; Lake Muir; Leeuwin; Linfarne; Manjimup; Maranup; Margaret River; Mayanup; McAlinden; Meerup; Middlesex; Molloy Island; Mordalup; Mt Barker; Mullalyup; Nannup; Narrikup; Nillup *; Nornalup; North Greenbushes; North Walpole; Northcliffe; Ocean Beach; Palgarup; Parryville; Peaceful Bay; Peerabeelup; Pemberton; Perillup; Perup; Porongurup; Prevelly; Quinninup; Redgate; Ringbark; Rocky Gully; Scotsdale; Scott River; Scott River East; Scotts Brook; Shadforth; Shannon; Smith Brook; Southampton; Stirling Range Nat Park; Sunnyside; Takalarup; Tingledale; Tonebridge; Upper Warren; Walpole; Wandillup; Warner Glen; Wilga; Wilgarrup; William Bay; Windy Harbour; Winnejup; Witchcliffe; Woogenellup; Yanmah; Yeagarup; Yornup
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:
South West

Local Governments within the Electorate:
Shire of Augusta-Margaret River
Shire of Boyup Brook
Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes
Shire of Denmark; Statistical Profile of Shire of Denmark
Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
Shire of Gnowangerup
Shire of Manjimup
Shire of Nannup
Shire of Plantagent

Government: Augusta Primary School; Balingup Primary School; Boyup Brook District High School; Bridgetown High School; Bridgetown Primary School; Denmark Primary School; Denmark Senior High School; East Manjimup Primary School; Greenbushes Primary School; Karridale Primary School; Kendenup Primary School; Manjimup Education Support Centre; Manjimup Primary School; Manjimup Senior High School; Margaret River Primary School; Margaret River Senior High School; Mount Barker Community College; Nannup District High School; Northcliffe District High School; Pemberton District High School; Rapids Landing Primary School; Walpole Primary School; Western Australian College Of Agriculture – Denmark.

Other: Golden Hill Steiner School; Kearnan College; Margaret River Independent School; Margaret River Montessori School; Spirit Of Play Community School; St Brigid's School; St Joseph's School; St Mary's Catholic School; St Thomas More Catholic Primary School.

Local Newspapers:
  • Denmark Bulletin
  • Manjimup-Bridgetown Times

Books about Warren-Blackwood
  • Lee Fernie: In praise of a national park - the origins and history of the Walpole-Nornalup National Park (88p. L Fernie, 1989)
  • Tom Turner: Turners of Augusta (231p. Paterson Brokensha, 1956)
  • Susan Groom: A sense of ownership - the story of the Kent River (96p. Kent River Land Conservation District Committee, 2006)
  • Norma Iredell: The Warren early settlers (128p. Vocation Education & Training Publications, 2008)
  • Alison Daubney: Northcliff, I remember when - fourteen families remember (336p. A Daubney, 2001)
  • Alison Daubney: Pemberton family stories - six families remember (113p. A Daubney, 2001)
  • Patricia Crawford: Contested country - a history of the Northcliff area, Western Australia (303p. UWA Press, 2003)
  • Len Talbot: Nannup, a place to stop and rest (194p. Hesperian Press, 2003)
  • Arthur Hartley: War clouds over Nannup - a study of the life of a small Australian town 1939-1945 (101p. Nannup Shire Council, 1987)
  • A Schorer: History of the Upper Blackwood (333p. Upper Blackwood Shire Council, 1968)
  • C Gilbert: History of Nannup (50p. Nannup Shire Council, 1973)
  • Cyril Ayris: Leeuwin lighthouse, a brief history (40p. Cyril Ayris, 1996)
  • Ian Conochie: Denmark, an outline history (33p. Denmark Tourist Bureau, 1979)
  • Lyn Adams: Orchard and mill - the story of Bill Lee, South-West pioneer (156p. UWA Press, 2004)
  • John steward: Manjimup and the Warren District - past and present (111p. J Steward, 2008)
  • Jane Muir: History in the news - old newspaper articles, Manjimup and districts (317p. Jane Muir, 2011)
  • Peter Johnston: Shannon Times, an anecdotal history of a timber town (250p. P Johnston, 2010)
  • M Southcombe: To call our own - pioneering the group settlements (84p. Hesperian Press, 1988)
  • Group settlement in Western Australia - at work on the Peel Estate (31p. Dept of Lands and Surveys, 1923)
  • Garry Teahan: The ghosts of Hamelin Bay (85p. Hesperian Press, 2008)

Statistical Profile of the Warren-Blackwood Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Informaiton about Previous Elections

Current Member

Jane Kelsbie (ALP)

Jane is a Denmark local who has worked as chief executive of a community-focused not-for-profit organisation, Worklink WA.

As a community volunteer, Jane was the first female president of the Denmark Surf Life Saving Club (2016-2019), where she was on the Committee for seven years.

Jane has also served as member protection officer, an active volunteer, patrolling member and a member of our local Emergency Response Team. Jane has also volunteered in the arts, event management, and on the Denmark Chamber of Commerce Board.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Warren-Blackwood Electorate

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 2007

Name Party Term
Donald Terrance (Terry) Redman National Party 2008 - 2021
Jane Kelsbie Australian Labor Party 2021 -

Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)