Skip to main content
  • No Sitting Scheduled Today
    No Sitting Scheduled Today

Maylands Electorate Profile

Current Member

Lisa Baker was born in Perth and grew up living in what was then semi-rural Darlington in Perth's eastern hills region and attended the local Helena Primary School.

Lisa is Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. Before entering Parliament she was Executive Director of the Western Australian Council of Social Services (WACOSS), worked in an executive position for the Ministry of Justice, was employed by several UN agencies, and served as a councillor on the Mundaring Shire Council.

As the representative for the electorate of Maylands in the State Parliament, Lisa is an advocate for improved public transport services for local village hubs and for increased supports for local businesses and jobs in her electorate.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Maylands Electorate Map

Maylands Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Maylands Electorate

Maylands Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Maylands Stat 1
Maylands Stat 4
Maylands Stat 2
Maylands Stat 5
Maylands Stat 3
Maylands Stat 6

* More Statistics for Maylands Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Maylands Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,851 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: The suburb of Maylands was developed in the 1890s around the railway line built through the area in the 1880s. The origin of the name is uncertain, but two possibilities have been suggested. One possible origin is that the name relates to the purchase of the land in the month of May by Mr E.W. Hamer, the other origin is that it was named by Mr Mephan Ferguson after his daughter, May. Ferguson ran an early business in the area.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Bayswater*, Bedford, Embleton*, Inglewood*, Maylands* and Morley*.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Bayswater Primary School
Durham Road School
Embleton Primary School
Hillcrest Primary School
Inglewood Primary School
John Forrest Secondary College
Maylands Peninsula Primary School

Kids Open Learning School
St Columba's School
Chisholm Catholic College
St Peter's Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Perth Voice
Guardian Express
Eastern Reporter
Local Governments within District
City of Bayswater (part)
City of Stirling (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Maylands District

John Scaddan
John Scaddan

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1929

John Scaddan Nationalist 1930 - 1933
Robert Ernest Clothier Australian Labor Party 1933 - 1936
Harry Vivian Shearn Unendorsed Nationalist 1936 - 1951
Edward Peate Oldfield Liberal and Country League 1951b - 1956
John Mervin Toms Australian Labor Party 1956 - 1962
Edward Peate Oldfield Australian Labor Party 1962 - 1965
Robert James Percival Marshall Liberal and Country League 1965 - 1968
John Joseph Harman Australian Labor Party 1968 - 1986
Peter M'Callum Dowding Australian Labor Party 1986 - 1990
Dr Judith (Judy) Mary Edwards Australian Labor Party 1990b - 2008
Lisa Loraine Baker Australian Labor Party 2008 -
b = by-election