Skip to main content
  • No Sitting Scheduled Today
    No Sitting Scheduled Today

Swan Hills Electorate Profile

Current Member

Jessica Shaw moved to the Swan Hills electorate when she first came to WA ten years ago and currently lives in Mount Helena. Her family has lived in the area for over twenty five years.

Jessica was elected to the seat of Swan Hills at the 2017 State Election.

Prior to her move into politics, Jessica worked in the Resources and Energy sector. She has held a range of senior commercial positions, focussing on the development and management of major energy infrastructure projects, both here in WA and throughout Australia.

Before moving to WA, Jessica had worked for the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee in the Australian Parliament and was also the Political and Economic Attache to the British High Commission.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Swan Hills Electorate Map

Swan Hills Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Swan Hills Electorate

Swan Hills Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Swan Hills Stat 1
Swan Hills Stat 4
Swan Hills Stat 2
Swan Hills Stat 5
Swan Hills Stat 3
Swan Hills Stat 6

* More Statistics for Swan Hills Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Swan Hills Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,987 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: This is a "made-up" name created for the electorate because it encompasses portion of the Swan Valley and the hills area to the east of Perth. The Swan River was named by the Dutch explorer Willem Vlamingh in 1697 because of the number of Black Swans seen on the river.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Aveley, Bailup, Beechina, Belhus*, Brigadoon, Bullsbrook, Chidlow, Ellenbrook, Gidgeganup, Melaleuca, Mount Helena*, Red Hill*, Sawyers Valley*, The Vines, Upper Swan, Walyunga National Park, and Wooroloo.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Arbor Grove Primary School
Aveley North Primary School
Aveley Primary School
Bullsbrook College
Chidlow Primary School
Eastern Hills Senior High School
Ellen Stirling Primary School
Ellenbrook Primary School
Ellenbrook Secondary College
Gidgegannup Primary School
Malvern Springs Primary School
Mount Helena Primary School
Sawyers Valley Primary School
Upper Swan Primary School
Wooroloo Primary School

Bible Baptist Christian Academy
Ellenbrook Christian College
Swan Valley Anglican Community School
Holy Cross College
St Helena's Catholic Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Ellenbrook Swan Valley Advocate
Books about Swan Hills:
Memories of Chittering and Bullsbrook, 1830-1995 (204p. Access Press, 1995)
A Peterkin: The noisy mansions - the story of Swanleigh, 1868-1971 (235p. Swanleigh Council, 1986)
Local Governments within District
Shire of Mundaring (part)
City of Swan (part) ; Statistical Profile of City of Swan

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Swan Hills District

Gavan Troy
Gavan Troy

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1988

Gavan John Troy Australian Labor Party 1989 - 1993
June Dorothy van de Klashorst Liberal Party 1993 - 2001
Jaye Amber Radisich Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2008
Francesco (Frank) Angelo Alban Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Jessica Jane Shaw Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election