Skip to main content
  • No Sitting Scheduled Today
    No Sitting Scheduled Today
Hon. Julian Fletcher Grill MLA LL.B., JP

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Australian Labor Party
Electorate:Former Member for the Electorate of Eyre

Speeches by Hon. Julian Fletcher Grill
Portrait of member

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Hide details for Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary HandbookExtract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
GRILL, Hon. Julian Fletcher, MLA
Member for Eyre
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Twenty-ninth Parliament for Yilgarn-Dundas on 19 February 1977 in succession to Thomas Augustine Hartrey (retired). Re-elected 1980. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 1981. Elected to the Thirty-first Parliament for Esperance-Dundas (new seat) on 19 February 1983. Re-elected 1986. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 1988. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament for Eyre (new seat) on 4 February 1989. Re-elected 1993, 1996. Did not contest general election 10 February 2001.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Transport, Regional Development, and the North-West with special responsibility for Bunbury 2000 25 February 1983 – 26 February 1986. Minister for Agriculture, The South-West, Fisheries, Transport (until 12 May 1986), The North-West (until 25 July 1986), and Minister assisting the Minister for Economic Development and Trade (from 7 June 1988) 26 February 1986 – 28 February 1989. Minister for Economic Development and Trade, and Tourism 28 February 1989 – 12 February 1990.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Mines, Fuel and Energy September 1981 – February 1983; for Primary Industries, and Great Southern 17 February 1993 – 7 February 1994; for Resources, Primary Industries (until 18 October 1994), and the Arts (until 18 October 1994) 7 February 1994 – 12 January 1995. Shadow Minister for Resources Development 15 January 1997 - 4 August 1999. Spokesperson for Resources Development; Mines from 5 August 1999 - 10 February 2001.

Standing Committees

Member Public Accounts Committee 14 May – 24 September 1981.

Select Committees/Royal Commissions

Chairman Select Committee on Country Hospitals and Nursing Posts 21 November 1990 – 26 May 1992. Member Select Committee on Petroleum Products Pricing in Western Australia 6 April 2000 - 30 September 2000.



Born 15 May 1940, Sydney, NSW. Arrived in Western Australia 1950.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Parliament

LL B. Barrister and solicitor.


Eyre is located in the Mining and Pastoral Region and includes the Shires of Coolgardie, Dundas, Laverton, Leonora and Menzies, and part of the City of Kalgoorlie–Boulder and the eastern part of the Shire of Yilgarn (including Southern Cross and Marvel Loch). Enrolment (14 December 1996) 10,587; area 587,796 sq km.