Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 12/10/2021 (02:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 12/10/2021
  • The Legislative Council meets on 12/10/2021 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 12/10/2021
  • The Public Administration meets today (01:15 PM)Watch live
Mr Arthur Dix Marshall

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Liberal Party
Electorate:Former Member for the Electorate of Dawesville

Inaugural Speech: pdf icon to inaugural speech transcript

Speeches by Mr Arthur Dix Marshall
Portrait of member

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Hide details for Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary HandbookExtract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
Member for Dawesville


Elected to the Thirty-fourth Parliament for Murray on 6 February 1993 in succession to Keith John Read (defeated). Electorate abolished in redistribution 1994. Elected to the Thirty-fifth Parliament for Dawesville (new seat) on 14 December 1996. Re-elected 2001. Did not contest the general election 26 February 2005 and succeeded by Kim Desmond Hames (Liberal).

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary assisting the Minister for Mines, Tourism, and Sport and Recreation 9 January 1997 - 15 February 2001.

Standing Committees

Member Joint House Committee 23 June 1993 – 14 November 1996.

Select Committees/Royal Commissions

Member Select Committees on Wittenoom 22 September 1993 – 3 August 1994; and on Recycling and Waste Management 8 December 1994 – 7 December 1995.

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conferences, delegations etc.

Represented WA branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at 23rd Australasian and Pacific Regional Conference, Cook Islands 1995.



Born 5 August 1934, East Fremantle.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Parliament

Tennis professional, investor and retail business.


Dawesville is located in the South West Region and is entirely situated within the City of Mandurah (including Coodanup, Dawesville, Falcon, Glencoe and Halls Head). Enrolment (10 February 2001) 17, 117; area 191 sq km.

Marshall.GIF (image size = h430 x w290)