Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 28/03/2023 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 28/03/2023
  • The Legislative Council meets on 28/03/2023 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 28/03/2023
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 29/03/2023 (10:30 AM)
    Committee meet 29/03/2023

Hon. Thomas (Tom) Gregory Stephens MLA


Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
STEPHENS, Hon Thomas (Tom) Gregory, MLA
Former Member for Pilbara
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirtieth Parliament for North Province at the by-election on 31 July 1982 held to fill the vacancy consequent upon the resignation of William Robert Withers. Re-elected 1983. Elected for Mining and Pastoral Region from 22 May 1989. Re-elected 1993, 1996, 2001 (for term commencing 22 May 2001). Resigned on 16 September 2004 as a Member of the Legislative Council to contest the Federal Seat of Kalgoorlie.
Elected to the Legislative Assembly for Central Kimberley-Pilbara (new seat) on 26 February 2005. Seat abolished in the redistribution of 2007. Elected to the Thirty Eighth Parliament for Pilbara (new seat) on 6 Sepember 2008. Did not contest the general election of 9 March 2013.

Parliamentary Appointments

Deputy Chairman of Committees from 7 August 1983 to 1984.
Trustee Parliamentary Superannuation Board from 3 December 2008.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary of State from 30 April 1990 - 26 November 1992 (from 20 November 1990) to the Minister for Transport, Racing and Gaming, and Tourism; from 19 March 1991 to the Minister for State Development, and the Goldfields; and from 29 September 1992 to the Minister for State Development, Goldfields and MidWest).
Minister for Services; Gascoyne; Mid West; Wheatbelt from 26 November 1992 to 16 February 1993.
Minister for Housing; Works and Services from 16 February 2001 to 1 July 2001.
Minister for Housing and Works from 1 July 2001 to 27 June 2003.
Minister for the Kimberley; Pilbara and Gascoyne from 16 February 2001 to 16 September 2004.
Minister for Local Government; Regional Development from 1 July 2001 to 16 September 2004.
Minister for Heritage; Goldfields-Esperance from 27 June 2003 to 16 September 2004.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Aboriginal Affairs; Regional Development; North West and Gascoyne from 15 January 1997 to 16 February 2001.

Standing Committees

Note: At the commencement of each Parliament, Members are required to be (re)appointed
Chairman (until May 1990) and member Standing Committee on Government Agencies from September 1989 to June 1990.
Member Library Committee from 1986 to 1987.
Member Joint House Committee from 23 June 1993 to 10 June 1998.
Additional member Estimates and Financial Operations Committee from September 1990 to October 1990.
Member Legislation Committee from 18 March 1999 to 27 October 1999.
Chairman Education and Health Standing Committee from 7 April 2005.
Member Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 13 November 2008 to 30 January 2013.

Select Committees/Royal Commissions

Note: Select Committees cease to exist on Prorogation
Member Select Committees on Aboriginal Poverty in WA from 1984 to 1985.
Member on the Allocation of Funds by the Aboriginal Liaison Committee 1986.
Member on a Matter of Privilege relating to the Select Committee inquiring into Burswood Management Limited 1988.
Member on the SEC of WA Advance Coal Purchase from Western Collieries Limited 1988.
Member on a Matter of Privilege on Easton Petition presented by Hon John Halden from 11 November 1992 to 14 December 1992.
Member on Cape Range National Park and Ningaloo Marine Park from 1 December 1994 to 15 December 1995.
Member to Review the Legislative Council Standing Committee System from 26 June 1997 to 27 August 1997.
Chairman Select Committee on Native Title Rights from 17 September 1997 to 10 November 1998.
Member on Native Title Legislation from 1 December 1998 to 10 December 1998.

Parliamentary Party Appointments

Deputy Government Whip in Legislative Council from 1983 to 1990.
Secretary Parliamentary Labor Party from 16 February 1993 to 20 January 1996.
Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council from 20 December 1996.

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conferences, delegations etc

Represented WA branch Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at 35th General Conference, Barbados, 1989; and 11th Australasian Pacific Regional Seminar, Western Samoa and South Australia, 1994.



Born 15 November 1951, Darlinghurst, NSW.
Arrived in Western Australia 1977.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Parliament

BA. Research officer.


The electorate of Pilbara is located in the Mining and Pastoral region and includes the localities of Boodarie, , Chichester, De Grey, Gibson Desert North, Gibson Desert South, Indee, Juna Downs, Karijini, Marble Bar, Millstream, , Mt Sheila, Mulga Downs, Newman, Nullagine, Pannawonica, Paraburdoo, Pardoo, Pippingarra, Port Hedland, Redbank, Rocklea, South Hedland, Strelley, Telfer, Tom Price, Wallareenya, Wedgefield, Wittenoom and parts of Innawanga.
Enrolment (26 February 2007) 11,290; area: 527,513 sq kms.