Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets tomorrow (01:00 PM)
    Council sit tomorrow
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 11/06/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 11/06/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 10/06/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 10/06/2024

Mr Peter Argyris Katsambanis MLA


Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

Former Member for Hillarys
Liberal Party


Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for the North Metropolitan Region on 5 April 2013 for term commencing 22 May 2013. Resigned 6 February 2017 (to contest the Legislative Assembly seat of Hillarys).
Elected to the Fortieth Parliament for Hillarys on 11 March 2017, in succession to Robert (Rob) Frank Johnson (defeated).
Defeated at the general election of 13 March 2021 by Caitlin Mary Collins (ALP).

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Superannuation Board from 21 June 2017 to 13 March 2021.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Police; Road Safety; Corrective Services; Industrial Relations from 25 March 2017 to 21 December 2017.
Shadow Minister for Police; Road Safety; Industrial Relations from 21 December 2017 to 28 February 2020.
Shadow Minister for Police; Justice; Road Safety; Industrial Relations from 28 February 2020 to 13 March 2021.

Standing Committees

Member, Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation from 23 May 2013 to 30 January 2017.
Deputy Chair, Standing Committee on Estimates and Financial Operations from 22 May 2013 to 6 February 2017.
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Audit from 13 June 2013 to 30 January 2017.
Member, Community Development and Justice Standing Committee from 23 May 2017 to 29 January 2021 (Chair from 24 May 2017).
Member, Procedures and Privileges Committee from 14 August 2019 to 29 January 2021.

Parliamentary Party Appointments

Manager of Opposition Business from 24 November 2020 to 13 March 2021.



Born 24 December 1965, Melbourne, Australia.
Arrived in Western Australia in 2010.

Qualifications and occupation before entering Parliament

LLB, BComm.
Legal Practitioner; Chief of Staff.

The electorate of Hillarys is located in the North Metropolitan Region and includes all or parts of the City of Joondalup.
Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Beldon, Craigie, Hillarys, Kallaroo, Marmion, Padbury, and Sorrento.

Enrolment (2017) 27,561; Area 24 sq.kms.