Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Mr John Charles Kobelke

Date: 30 June 1949
Place: Mt Lawley, Western Australia
Son of John Edward Barrett Kobelke, painter, and Kathleen Mary Fraser
Marriage and Family
Married (1) 12 December 1971, St Thomas More College, Crawley to Linley Anne Donaldson, daughter of Harry Stewart Donaldson and Lillian Carr
Children: one son
Married (2) 13 July 1985, Scarborough to Stephanie Rusyn, daughter of Stefan Rusyn and Katherina Semiw

Children: two sons
Date: 23 June 2019
Place: Wembley Downs, Western Australia
Cemetery: Karrakatta Cemetery, WA
Educated St Columba’s School, Bayswater and Christian Brothers' College, Highgate
University of Western Australia—BSc, DipEd
Employment History
Teacher at St Louis School, Claremont 1971–1972
Teacher Bonana High School, Papua New Guinea 1973
Coordinator and manager Community Education Papua New Guinea 1974–1975
Officer, Bureau of Statistics Papua New Guinea 1976
Teacher at Girrawheen High School October 1976, Scarborough Senior High School 1977–1983
Executive Officer Cabinet Office, Department of Premier and Cabinet 1983–1986

Teacher at John Curtin Senior High School 1987–1988
Joined Australian Labor Party 1976
Worked for party at elections since teenager
Occupied various branch level offices, president and secretary Stirling Electorate Council
Delegate to State Executive
State Returning Officer 1987–1988
Date Elected
4 February 1989
Inaugural Speech

Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by John Kobelke
Year Retired/Resigned
Nollamara; Balcatta
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Nollamara 4 February 1989–26 February 2005. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament for Nollamara on 4 February 1989 in succession to Hon Keith James Wilson (successfully contested Dianella). Re-elected 1993, 1996, 2001. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2003.
  • MLA Balcatta 26 February 2005–9 March 2013. Elected to the Thirty-Seventh Parliament for Balcatta (new seat) on 26 February 2005. Re-elected 2008. Did not contest the general election of 9 March 2013.

  • Parliamentary Secretary of the Cabinet 22 October 1992–16 February 1993
  • Shadow Minister for Planning; Lands; Works and Services 17 February 1993–7 February 1994
  • Shadow Minister for Planning; Youth; Family 7 February 1994–18 October 1994
  • Shadow Minister for Planning; Lands; Family; FOI Spokesperson 18 October 1994–18 March 1996
  • Shadow Minister for Education; Family; FOI Spokesperson 18 March 1996–15 October 1996
  • Shadow Minister for Education; Family Employment and Training 15 October 1996–15 January 1997
  • Shadow Minister for Labour Relations; Employment and Training; FOI Spokesperson 15 January 1997–4 August 1999
  • Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly 16 February 2001–7 August 2008
  • Shadow Minister for Labour Relations; Freedom of Information; Opposition Leader of the House 4 August 1999–10 February 2001
  • Minister for Labour Relations; Consumer Affairs; Employment and Training 16 February 2001–1 July 2001
  • Minister for Consumer and Employment Protection; and Training (until 14 January 2003) 1 July 2001–27 June 2003
  • Minister for Consumer and Employment Protection, Indigenous Affairs. Minister Assisting the Minister for Public Sector Management, (until 10 March 2005) and Minister assisting the Minister for Water Resources (from 10 March 2005) 27 June 2003–3 February 2006
  • Minister for Water Resources and Sport and Recreation 3 February 2006–8 May 2006
  • Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Community Safety, Water Resources, and Sport and Recreation 8 May 2006–23 September 2008

  • Deputy Chairman of Committees 12 March 1992–4 November 1992
  • Member Printing Committee 30 March 1989–11 June 1998
  • Member Procedure and Privileges Committee 11 August 1999–10 January 2001
  • Member (Chair from 26 November 2008) Public Accounts Committee from 13 November 2008
  • Chairman Joint Select Committee on the Constitution 5 June 1990–24 October 1991
  • Member Select Committee on the Water Bill 7 May 1991–6 March 1992
  • Member Select Committee on the Official Corruption Commission Act 1988 27 November 1991–5 March 1992
  • Member Select Committee on the Recommendations of the Official Corruption Commission Act 26 May 1992–24 September 1992
  • Member Select Committee on a Matter of Privilege concerning the Premature Release of Public Accounts and Expenditure Review Committee (PAERC) Draft Report on Notre Dame Land Grant 16 September 1992–12 November 1992
  • Member Select Committee on Metropolitan Development and Ground Water Supplies 30 November 1993–1 December 1994

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  • Represented WA branch Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at 48th Parliamentary Seminar, Westminster, 1998
Private Member's Bills
Freedom of Information Amendment Bill 1998 Bill Defeated - 11/11/1998
Workplace Agreements (Provision of Choice) Amendment Bill 1998 Legislative Assembly Second Reading - 24/6/1998
Australian Volunteer Abroad to Papua New Guinea 1973–1975
One of first teachers to secure Commonwealth Innovations Grant to introduce teaching of computing in schools
Member of State School Teachers’ Union of WA, Returning Officer 1985–1987, past president and secretary Metropolitan High Schools branch, Trades and Labour Council delegate 1982–1983
TUTA (Trade Union Training Authority) summer school participant 1982 and 1983
Secretary Conscientious Objectors’ Advisory Committee 1969–1972 and founding member Perth Moratorium Movement
Foundation member of Teachers for Nuclear Disarmament
Player and secretary Associates Water Polo Club 1970–1972
B Sc, Dip Ed
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 143.
Metropolitan Cemeteries Board, Name Search, accessed 10 July 2019.
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 15 May 2014.
Further Information