Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Mr William (Bill) John McNee

Date: 28 April 1933
Place: Wyalkatchem, Western Australia
Son of William McNee, farmer, and Lillian Smith
Marriage and Family
Married 21 January 1964, Holy Family Catholic Church, Como to Lesley Margaret Barnett, daughter of Leslie Thomas Clarence Barnett and Catherine Eileen O’Leary
Children: two sons and two daughters
Date: 17 April 2015
Cemetery: Koorda Cemetery, Western Australia
Educated Yorkrakine and Wyalkatchem Primary Schools, and Aquinas College to age 15 years
Employment History
Commenced wheat and sheep farming on father’s property at Yorkrakine in 1949
Farmed with father and brothers at Wyalkatchem in 1950s and then at Koorda
National Service trainee in 1950s
Farmed with wife at Koorda since 1968
Local Government Service
Koorda Shire Council 22 April 1966–1 May 1981
Deputy president 1970–1973, president 1973–1979
Inaugural president Wyalkatchem branch of Liberal Party 1953
Inaugural president Koorda branch 1980
Date Elected
19 February 1983
Inaugural Speech
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Bill McNee
Year Retired/Resigned
Mount Marshall; Moore
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Mt Marshall 19 February 1983–8 February 1986. Elected to the Thirty-first Parliament for Mount Marshall on 19 February 1983 in succession to Hon William Raymond McPharlin (defeated). Defeated by Morton William Schell 8 February 1986.
  • MLA Moore 4 February 1989–26 February 2005. Contested Mt Marshall 2 September 1967 (by-election), 23 February 1980, 8 February 1986. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament for Moore on 4 February 1989 in succession to Albert William Crane (retired). Re-elected 1993, 1996, 2001. Did not contest general election on 26 February 2005 and succeeded by Gary Snook (Liberal).

  • Parliamentary Secretary of State assisting in Water Resources and Local Government 16 February 1993–9 January 1997
  • Shadow Minister for Transport and Fisheries 17 June 1990–August 1991; for Fisheries and Water Resources August 1991–24 May 1992; for Water Resources 24 May 1991–24 November 1992
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Water Resources 24 November 1992–16 February 1993
  • Shadow Minister for Water Resources (until 31 December 2001) and Salinity 9 March 2001–27 May 2004

  • Member Select Committee on Rural Hardship 7 December 1983–11 October 1984
  • Member Select Committee on Land Conservation 27 September 1989–5 December 1991
  • Member Joint House Committee 1989–1990
  • Member Standing Committee on Uniform Legislation and Intergovernmental Agreements 18 May 1998–10 January 2001
Secretary Farmers’ Union/Primary Industry Association Wyalkatchem 1964
Member Koorda branch till 1987
President Koorda Development Committee 1978–1981
Member Wyalkatchem Hospital Board 1963–1975, Chairman 1965–1973
Chairman Agaton Task Force 1984
Member committee Koorda Silver Chain
Member Koorda Lions Club
Wife Lesley was Koorda Citizen of the Year 1983
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 164-165.
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 20 May 2014.