Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Hon Mark Warriedar Nevill

Date: 1 July 1947
Place: North Fremantle, Western Australia
Son of Philip James Warriedar Nevill, clerk with Main Roads Department, and Ann Evelyn Cook
Marriage and Family
Married 7 December 1974, St Mary’s Church, Middle Swan to Jennifer Kay Gibbs, daughter of Eric Vivian and Margaret Elizabeth Cochrane
Children: three daughters
Educated Richmond State School 1953–1954, Christian Brothers College Fremantle 1955–1959, John Curtin Senior High School 1960–1962, St Ildephonsus College, New Norcia 1963–1964
Graylands Teachers’ College 1965–1966—Teachers’ Certificate
University of Western Australia 1971–1974—BSc (Hons)
Employment History
Taught for Education Department at Balgo Hills Mission 1967–1968 and Ardross Primary School 1969–1970
Employed by Western Mining Corporation until 1983 as Senior Geologist at Kambalda 1974–1980 and at Wittenoom 1981–1982
OIC Patterson Basin discovered Nifty copper deposit and Minyari Hill gold deposit
Norseman 1982–1983, exploration leading to discovery of Scotia gold mine
Joined Australian Labor Party (ALP) 1975
Secretary and president Kambalda branch
President Kalgoorlie Electorate Council and several State Executive Committees
Resigned from ALP 23 August 1999 to sit as an Independent
Date Elected
22 May 1983
Inaugural Speech
Nevill, Mark Warriedar, Inaugural Speech.pdf
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Mark Nevill
Year Retired/Resigned
South-East; Mining and Pastoral
Parliamentary Service
  • MLC South-East Province 22 May 1983–21 May 1989. Elected to the Thirty-first Parliament from 22 May 1983 for South-East Province in succession to Ronald Thomas Leeson (defeated for South Province).
  • MLC Mining and Pastoral Region 22 May 1989–21 May 2001. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament from 22 May 1989 for Mining and Pastoral Region. Re-elected 1993, 1996 (for term commencing 22 May 1997). Resigned from the Australian Labor Party on 23 August 1999 to become an Independent. Defeated 10 February 2001 (term concluded on 21 May 2001).
  • Contested Murchison–Eyre 23 February 1980

  • Parliamentary Secretary of State 30 April 1990–16 February 1993, from 20 November 1990 to Minister for Mines, Fuel and Energy, Mid-West and Small Business; from 19 March 1991 to the Minister for Mines, Fisheries and Mid-West; and from 29 September 1992 to the Minister for Small Business, Mines, Fisheries, and Minister assisting the Minister for Employment, Trade and Investment.
  • Shadow Minister for Finance and Mines 17 February 1993–18 October 1994; for Mines and Goldfields 18 October 1994–23 January 1995; for Finance, Mines and Goldfields 23 January 1995–18 March 1996; for Finance and Mines 18 March 1996–15 October 1996; for Mines, Lands and Goldfields 15 October 1996–23 August 1999
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council 30 November 1993–15 January 1997

  • Deputy Chairman of Committees 1986–1989; 18 March 1997–10 January 2001
  • Member Standing Orders Committee 1986–1989, 18 March 1997–10 January 2001
  • Chairman Standing Committee on Government Agencies 1986–1989
  • Member Constitutional Affairs and Statutes Revision Committee July 1990–20 August 1992
  • Member Estimates and Financial Operations Committee 3 August 1993–14 November 1996, Chairman 29 April 1997–10 January 2001
  • Member Joint Standing Committee on the Commission on Government 16 August 1994–14 November 1996
  • Member Legislation Committee 10 April 1997–26 June 1997
  • Member Select Committee inquiring into a Committee System for Legislative Council 23 August 1983–19 September 1985
  • Member Select Committee on the Mining Act Amendment Bill 1985: 1984–1985
  • Member Select Committee on the Allocation of Funds by the Aboriginal Liaison Committee 15 July–19 November 1986
  • Member Select Committee on Burswood Management Ltd 31 May–23 June 1988
  • Member Select Committee on Acts to be Considered for Repeal 28 September 1989–11 July 1990
  • Member Select Committee on Limitation of Professional and Other Occupational Liability 17 March 1992 (lapsed on prorogation of Parliament, reappointed 10 August 1993–22 March 1994
  • Member Select Committee on a Matter of Privilege relating to the Non-compliance of Brian Easton with an Order of the House 9 August 1994–15 December 1994
  • Member Select Committee on West Australian/South Australian Border Checkpoint 2 May–7 November 1996
  • Member Select Committee on Native Title Legislation 1–10 December 1998

  • Trustee Parliamentary Superannuation Fund 7 September 1993–10 February 2001

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  • Represented WA branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at 23rd Australasian and Pacific regional Conference, Cook Islands, 1995.
Private Member's Bills
Prostitution Limitation Bill 2000 Legislative Council Second Reading - 6/4/2000
Member Australasian Society of Mining and Metallurgy and Geological Institute of Australia
Chairman Royal Australian Institute of Public Administration 1987–1988, WS Lonnie award committee, annual award reporting for State Government Department agencies
Justice of the Peace
President Esperance Community Youth Support Scheme
Member Kimberley Society, National Trust
Chairman Performing Arts Centre, Esperance
Member Melville and Kambalda Water Polo Clubs, Pink Lake Country Club (golf) and Kalgoorlie–Boulder and Norseman Race clubs
Member Kambalda and Norseman Workers’ Clubs
Interests include geology and mineral exploitation, teaching literacy to Aboriginal children, writing literacy texts, outback travel, bushwalking, mediation, swimming and the Golden Pipelines
Researched and wrote a number of historical articles including one on King O’Malley’s association with Kalgoorlie publishing and a book on history of Kimberley
Teacher Certif., B Sc. (Hons)
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 191.
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 21 May 2014.
Further Information