Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Mr Robert (Rob) Frank Johnson

Principal Honours
Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) awarded 26 January 2019 for service to the Parliament and community of Western Australia
Date: 17 October 1943
Place: London, United Kingdom
Arrival in WA
Left United Kingdom 19 February 1988
Son of Maurice Robert Ewart Johnson, clerk of works ministry building, and Hilda Victoria Pinchen, secretary
Marriage and Family
Children: two sons and two daughters
Church of England
Educated Marvels Lane Primary School, Catford Central School, United Kingdom
Employment History
Commenced own business in England in 1968, tea and coffee dealer and manufacturer and diversified into frozen foods and mail order and franchising packages
After arrival in WA director of investment company Mt Hawthorn Holdings Pty Ltd, Challenger Charter Coaches Pty Ltd, and computer distributorship Johnson Technology Corporation Pty Ltd
Local Government Service
Sutton Borough Council, London, UK 1978–1986, Mayor from 1985
Wanneroo City Council 1991–1993, Mayor 1992–1993
Independent Liberal from 15 April 2016
Joined Liberal Party 1990
Delegate to Division Council and Conference, State Conference; vice-president Division Council
Date Elected
6 February 1993
Inaugural Speech

Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Rob Johnson
Valedictory Speech
No valedictory speech given
Year Retired/Resigned
Whitford; Hillarys
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Whitford 6 February 1993–14 December 1996 . Elected to the Thirty-Fourth Parliament for Whitford on 6 February 1993 in succession to Pamela Anne Beggs (defeated). Electorate abolished in redistribution of 1994.
  • MLA Hillarys 14 December 1996–11 March 2017. Elected to the Thirty-Fifth Parliament for Hillarys (new seat) on 14 December 1996. Re-elected 2001, 2005, 2008, 2013. Defeated at the general election of 11 March 2017 for the seat of Hillarys by Peter Katsambanis (Lib).

  • Parliamentary Secretary of the Cabinet 10 June 1997–21 December 1999
  • Minister for Works, Services, and Citizenship and Multicultural Interests 22 December 1999–15 February 2001
  • Shadow Minister for Justice, Works and Services, and Citizenship and Multicultural Interests 22 December 1999–31 December 2001; for Community Services (until 24 February 2003), Seniors, Tourism (from 24 February 2003) and Opposition Leader of the House 1 January 2002–27 May 2004
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Tourism; Seniors 27 May 2004–20 March 2005
  • Shadow Minister for Police, Justice, Tourism, and Public Sector Management (until 22 May 2005) 20 March 2005–4 February 2006, for Police and Justice 4 February 2006–25 January 2008, for Police, Community Safety, and Corrective Services 25 January 2008–20 June 2008
  • Minister for Police, Emergency Services, Road Safety 23 September 2008–6 December 2011
  • Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly 23 September 2008–29 June 2012
  • Minister for Police, Road Safety 6 December 2011–29 June 2012

  • Deputy Chairman of Committees 22 June 1993–6 March 1997
  • Chairman of Committees 6 March 1997–1 June 1997
  • Member Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Agreements and Uniform Legislation Schemes 4 August 1993–21 September 1995
  • Member Select Committee on Metropolitan Development and Ground Water Supplies 30 November 1993–1 December 1994
  • Member Standing Orders and Procedure Committee 23 March 1994–14 March 2000
  • Member Select Committee on Procedure 29 September 1994–27 June 1996
  • Member Joint Standing Committee on the Commission on Government 29 March 1995–14 November 1996, chairman 29 March 1995–14 November 1996
  • Member Standing Committee on Community Development and Justice 30 May 2001–23 January 2005
  • Member Procedure and Privileges Committee 7 April 2005–7 August 2008
  • Member Community Development and Justice Standing Committee 16 August 2012–30 January 2013
  • Member Education and Health Standing Committee 9 May 2013–30 January 2017
Private Member's Bills
Acts Amendment (Assaults on Police Officers) Bill 2008 Second reading not agreed to - 11/6/2008
Road Traffic Amendment (Confiscation and Disposal of Vehicles) Bill 2008 Bill Lapsed - 7/8/2008
Road Traffic Legislation Amendment (Disqualification for Life) Bill 2016 Bill Defeated - 17/8/2016
Member UK Chamber of Commerce 1977–1986 and Wanneroo Chamber of Commerce from 1991
Justice of the Peace
Vice-president St Raphael’s Hospice League of Friends (founding chairman 1985–1987)
International Rotarian from 1985
Honorary member Lions from 1996
Member Board of Governors for eight UK schools 1978–1986
President North Shore Country Club 1989–1991
Won trophies for show jumping and hunter trials
In 1985 raised $12,000 for children in need riding his horse to all 64 schools in London borough of Sutton, and in 1986 raised $25,000 producing a variety show including Cliff Richard and Harry Secombe
Member Radio Lollipop caring for children in hospital in UK

From 1993 Chairman Radio Lollipop (Australia)
In 1992 and 1993 organised charity ball raising $50,000 for children in Wanneroo area with disabilities
Coordinator Princess Margaret Hospital Door Knock Appeal 1993–1997
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 135.
Parliament of Western Australia website. Former Members, accessed 17 May 2017.
Further Information