Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Hon Murray Davidson Nixon

Principal Honours
Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) awarded 26 January 2016 for service to the Parliament, to the agricultural sector, and to the community, of Western Australia
Date: 20 June 1936
Place: Perth, Western Australia
Son of John Nixon, farmer and stud breeder, and Esther Dorothy Wright, school teacher and farmer
Marriage and Family
Married 13 February 1960, Wesley Church, Perth to Margaret (Meg) Ellen Smith, daughter of Alan Gordon and Beryl Ruby Bain
Children: three daughters
Church of England
Educated Dalwallinu Primary School, Banksiadale Primary School and Wesley College
Perth Technical College
Employment History
Employed for a year at Powell Engineers
Worked on family farm at Dalwallinu then share farmed from 1958 at Dalwallinu and Kalannie
Purchased ‘Kallaroo Farm’ at Moora in 1964, farmed in partnership with wife Meg, and Angus stud breeding; sold farm in 1994 and then had property at Gingin including a registered stud for many years
Also at various times involved in farming and pastoral ventures in West Kimberley, Victoria Plains, Noggerup, Boyup Brook and Mt Many Peaks
Foundation member Dalwallinu branch 1961 and Dandaragan branch 1983
President Moora branch from 1964 for many years and variously president and secretary
Member Moore Division Executive for 20 years, president for four years and senior vice-president for five years
Member O’Connor Division Executive–secretary 2002–2008, and previously vice-president, two years and president four years
Secretary-treasurer Durack Division 2009
Member (still current) State Council for 35–40 years, State Executive for 25 years and Federal Council for eight years
State Vice-President for seven years
Received Meritorious Award 1991, Distinguished Service Award 2005, Premier’s Award (Parliamentary) 1998
Member Rural Committee for 35 years, Chairman eight years
Date Elected
22 May 1993
Inaugural Speech

Nixon, Murray Davidson, Inaugural Speech.pdf
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Murray Nixon
Nixon, Murray Davidson, Valedictory Speech.pdfNixon, Murray Davidson, Valedictory Speech.pdf
Year Retired/Resigned
Parliamentary Service

  • MLC Agricultural Region 22 May 1993–21 May 2001. Elected to the Thirty-fourth Parliament for Agricultural Region on 6 February 1993 for term commencing 22 May 1993. Re-elected 1996. Defeated 10 February 2001 (term concluded 21 May 2001).
  • Contested Agricultural Region 4 February 1989, 10 February 2001
  • Chairman Standing Committee on Constitutional Affairs and Statutes Revision 3 August 1993–August 1998
  • Member Constitutional Affairs Committee August 1998–10 January 2001
  • Member Joint Standing Committee on the Commission on Government 16 August 1994–14 November 1996
  • Member Select Committee on Native Title Rights 17 September 1997–10 November 1998
  • Member Select Committee on Native Title Legislation 1 December 1998–10 December 1998

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  • Represented WA branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at the 50th Parliamentary Seminar, Westminster, 2001

  • Contested Senate 11 July 1987
Member Pastoralists and Graziers Association
Member Central Midland Cattle Breeders Association
Former member Farmers’ Union, branch president, zone vice-president and member General Executive
Former member committee Dalwallinu Agricultural Society, member and past president Central Midlands Agricultural Society
Member North Midlands Agricultural Society, member and patron Kojonup Agricultural Society
Member Royal Agricultural Society of WA
Member committee Angus Society of WA, former federal councillor
Member junior farmers for many years, State president 1961
Justice of the Peace 1997
Winner ABC radio and TV award 1960
Member Royal Automobile Club
Chairman St James’ Residential College, Moora and received distinguished service award for work in this regard
Member Board Management Whiteman Park shooting complex
In 2010 vice president Country Regions Council of WA (Inc), chairman Gingin Private Property Rights Group (Inc) and Chairman Council of Owners, Swan View Apartments, South Perth
Active member of Triumph Car Club of WA
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 193.
It's an Honour, accessed 27 January 2016.
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 21 May 2014.