Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Edward Horne Wittenoom

Principal Honours
Knight Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George (KCMG) 1900
Date: 12 December 1854
Place: Fremantle, Western Australia
Son of Charles, bank director and pastoralist, and Sarah Elizabeth Harding
Marriage and Family
Married (1) 23 April 1878, St George's Cathedral, Perth to Laura Habgood (born circa May 1856 and died 27 October 1923), daughter of Robert Mace and Sarah Smithers
Children: two sons, including former MLC
Charles Horne Wittenoom, and three daughters
Widowed 27 October 1923 (wife died on board SS Mongolia en route London to Fremantle)
Married (2) 22 December 1924, Anglican Archbishop's Chapel, Perth to Isobel du Boulay (born circa 1896), daughter of Francis and Mary Jane Lawrence
Children: two daughters
Date: 5 March 1936
Place: West Perth, Western Australia
Cemetery: Karrakatta Cemetery, WA
Church of England
Educated Bishop Hale's School, Perth
Farmer, agent general, manager and consul
Employment History
Worked on Bowes sheep station, Northampton, at age of 15 years
1874 took up sheep farming with brother Francis Frederick Burdett at Yuin in Murchison district
Leased and managed Bowes Station 1877
1881 purchased White Peak Station near Geraldton and established sheep stud farm
1883–1886 owned station at La Grange
1886–1887 stock and station agency in Geraldton, sold later
28 March 1898–1901 Agent General for WA
1901 managing director Dalgety and Company
Chairman of directors Millars Karri and Jarrah Company Ltd, Bovril Australian Estates
Director Bank of NSW, Commercial Union Insurance, WA Bank
Consul for France in WA
Local Government Service
Murchison Road Board 1890
Liberal then National from 1917
Date Elected
16 July 1894
Inaugural Speech
Wittenoom, Edward Horne, Address-in-Reply, 1883.pdf
Inaugural Video
Search for speeches by Edward Wittenoom
Year Retired/Resigned
Geraldton; Central; North
Parliamentary Service

  • MLC Geraldton 30 May 1883 (by-election)–23 January 1884 (resigned), 25 June 1885 (by-election)–6 November 1886 (resigned); Central Province 16 July 1894–28 April 1898 (resigned 15 December 1894, re-elected 16 January 1895: by-election); North Province 12 May 1902–6 November 1906 (resigned), 13 May 1910–12 May 1934

  • President of Legislative Council 27 July 1922–10 August 1926
  • Minister for Mines, Education, and Posts and Telegraphs 19 December 1894–29 April 1898

  • Contested Senate 12 December 1906
President Pastoralists' Association 1912–1915 and 1917
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume one 1870-1930, Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2001, p. 210.
Metropolitan Cemeteries Board website. Accessed 29 April 2015.
Further Information
JS Battye, The Cyclopedia of Western Australia, vol 1, p. 334.
Rica Erickson, Dictionary of Western Australians 1829-1914, Volume 1. Early Settlers, 1829-1850.
Ronald McNicoll, 'Wisdom, Evan Alexander (1869–1945)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University,, published first in hardcopy 1990, accessed online 12 January 2016.
Who's Who Australia, (1933–1934)
Wilson, J. Graham. Western Australia's centenary 1829-1929 : first century's progress with antecedent records 1527-1828, p. 115.