Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Hon Alannah Joan Geraldine MacTiernan

Principal Honours
Date: 10 January 1953
Place: East Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Arrival in WA
December 1971
Daughter of Hugh Murrough, meat inspector, sales representative and public servant, and Dorothy Caroline Leahy, dental assistant and sales assistant
Marriage and Family
Not stated
University of Western Australia, BA, LLB, BJur
Employment History
Worked with Commonwealth Department of Employment 1977–1981, 1984 in WA and Melbourne in various capacities in Aboriginal Employment and Training Branch
Proprietor and publisher of
Mt Lawley/Maylands Express (suburban newspaper) 1981–1983
Practised law with Dwyer Durack
Local Government Service
Perth City Council May 1988–1993
Mayor City of Vincent 2011-2013
Joined University branch of the Australian Labor Party 1976, Perth branch 1979, founded Highgate branch 1981, variously secretary, vice-president, president and membership officer
Member variously at Curtin, Perth and Canning Electorate Councils
Delegate State Executive 1981, 1984–1991 and Delegate National Conferences 1994, 1997
Date Elected
22 May 1993
Inaugural Speech

Inaugural Video
Search for speeches by Alannah MacTiernan
MacTiernan, Allanah Joan Geraldine, Valedictory Speech.pdf
Year Retired/Resigned
North Metropolitan
Parliamentary Service

  • MLC East Metropolitan Region from 22 May 1993 to 21 November 1996 (resigned). Elected to the Thirty-Fourth Parliament for the East Metropolitan Region (Legislative Council) on 6 February 1993 for a term commencing on 22 May 1993. Resigned 21 November 1996.
  • MLA Armadale from 14 December 1996 to 20 July 2010 (resigned). Elected to the Thirty-Fifth Parliament for Armadale (Legislative Assembly) on 14 December 1996 in succession to Hon Elsie Kay Hallahan (retired). Re-elected 2001, 2005, 2008. Resigned 20 July 2010.
  • MLC North Metropolitan Region elected 11 March 2017 for a term commencing 22 May 2017. Elected to the Fortieth Parliament for the North Metropolitan Region (Legislative Council) on 11 March 2017 for a term commencing on 22 May 2017.
  • Shadow Minister for Productivity; Labour Relations from 18 October 1994 to 23 January 1995
  • Shadow Minister for Productivity; Labour Relations and Legislative Council Spokesperson on Housing and Construction from 23 January 1995 to 18 March 1996
  • Shadow Minister for Productivity; Labour Relations; Construction Industry from 18 March 1996 to 15 October 1996
  • Shadow Minister for Productivity; Labour Relations; Housing Construction from 15 October 1996 to 15 January 1997
  • Shadow Minister for Transport; Fair Trading from 15 January 1997 to 4 August 1999
  • Spokesperson for Transport; Planning from 5 August 1999 to 10 February 2001
  • Minister for Planning and Infrastructure from 16 February 2001 to 23 September 2008
  • Shadow Minister for Regional Development; Strategic Infrastructure; Climate Change from 26 September 2008 to 5 March 2010
  • Minister for Regional Development; Agriculture and Food; Ports (from 13 December 2018); Minister assisting the Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade from 17 March 2017 to present

  • Member Standing Committee on Constitutional Affairs and Statute Revision (Legislative Council) from 3 August 1993 to 14 November 1996
  • Member Public Accounts and Expenditure Review Committee (Legislative Assembly) from 11 March 1997 to 10 January 2001
  • Member Joint House Committee from 20 March 1997 to 11 June 1998
  • Member Joint Parliamentary Services Committee from 11 June 1998 to 24 November 1998
  • Member Standing Committee on Community Development and Justice (Chairman from 26 November 2008) from 13 November 2008 to 20 July 2010

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  • Represented WA branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at the 13th Australasian and Pacific Regional Seminar, Kiribati–Victoria, 1998


  • Contested Canning (House of Representatives) 21 August 2010
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Perth, Western Australia, 2013

  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Western Australia from 4 March 2014 to 9 May 2016
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure from 4 March 2014 to 9 May 2016
One time member Law Society of Western Australia
Member Perth Theatre Trust from 1989 to 1991
Inaugural member Heritage Council of WA from 1989 to 1991
Founding member East Timor WA Association
Member board Rod Evans Senior Citizens Centre from 1990 to 1993
Member Irish Club of WA from 1979, Irish-Australian Congress
Convenor Inner City Residents’ Action
Member University Women’s Soccer Club from 1975 to 1989, variously president, secretary, treasurer and Association representative
Secretary and treasurer Boadicea Women’s Soccer Club from 1992 to 1993
Patron Women’s Soccer WA and other sporting organisations
Director EMC Solar Ltd from 2011 to 2013
BA, LL B, D Jur
Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 169.
Parliament of Australia website. Accessed 12 February 2015, 9 March 2020.
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 19 May 2014.
Further Information
Chapter 32. Alannah MacTiernan Making a Difference.pdf